Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2011, 10:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 100
Share |
Default

Abandon romex?


Hello all,
I am re running some circuits in order to move a fixture. The 14/2 that I am replacing is stapled to the studs and is stacked with another 14/2 cable. I am replacing only one of the 14/2 cables.

I am concerned that if I try to remove the staples from the bundle of wires, that I will damage the cable that I am not replacing. Is there an appropriate way to abandon a run of wire in a wall? The drywall is off and I am down to the studs.

Thanks much
Brian

b_corwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:53 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,218
Default

Abandon romex?


Cut is short so it can't be used and leave it if you like.
If you cut the unused NM near the staple you should be able to pull it out. It should not be stapled tight.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:41 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,074
Default

Abandon romex?


Using a pair of angled cutters you can lever the staple out of the stud to allow you to remove the abandoned cable.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 12:11 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 288
Default

Abandon romex?


If you have the studs open, get the wire out.
If you are abandoning wire that you can't remove, then take all the wires, strip the ends, twist the wires together and cap and tape. Do this to both ends of the wire.
This way if someone energizes the wire not knowing where the other end goes it will immediateley trip the breaker.

I also do this when I rough in wires for later use.
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Identify age of old Romex - also funny ground Leah Frances Electrical 9 02-06-2012 12:07 AM
romex clamped against bx knockout in old box kbm774 Electrical 11 08-16-2010 01:53 PM
Is metallic ceiling box OK for Romex? KE2KB Electrical 6 12-04-2009 12:03 PM
Connecting Romex at Panel Bocolo Electrical 14 02-21-2009 05:55 AM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.