9 Wires In A Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2012, 09:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

9 wires in a box


I have an outlet box that had no outlets in it. It's big enough for 2 outlets but i'm only using 1. There are 4 black 4 white and 1 bare wire in the box. If I use only 2 white 2 black and the bare wire the lights in the room don't work. How do I need to hook these wires up?

Advertisement

Rabbit592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 09:42 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

9 wires in a box


There is absolutely NO way for us to tell from here. You'd need to trace each wire/cable and tell us where they go. It's not like each wire in every box has one specific function. Sometimes several have the same exact function, just coming and going to different locations.

Why only one ground? Is this fed by conduit?

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 09:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

9 wires in a box


It's in a mobile home. When I took the plate off the box, all the white wires were wire nutted together and the same for the black. I'm thinking that 2 of each of the wires continue on to the lighting in that room as the lights don't work with the outlet hooked up
Rabbit592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 10:03 PM   #4
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

9 wires in a box


Then that's how they have to stay, use short pigtails of wire to connect to your receptacle.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 10:05 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

9 wires in a box


Just use 1 pigtail off the black and 1 off the white to the outlet?

Thanks so much for the help...had me confused

Last edited by Rabbit592; 06-02-2012 at 10:09 PM.
Rabbit592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 10:12 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

9 wires in a box


If they were all spliced before, HOW is that confusing??
By breaking the splice you are obviously discontinuing power to something.

Are you absolutely comfortable doing this work? I get a VERY bad feeling from this.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 10:17 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

9 wires in a box


Well like I said Pete, there were no recepticles there, just the box with a cover on it. I'm just putting a recepticle in it. Wasn't sure how to do it but thanks anyway
Rabbit592 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 10:31 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

9 wires in a box


The confusion was that why you would think that you could change the way things were wired and expect everything to work the same as it did.

Its a valid confusion.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D 3 number 12 wires equal one number 8 wire? Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-26-2011 09:00 PM
if there are red white green and black wires coming out of your walls like everywhere cray331 Electrical 3 01-17-2011 01:56 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 08:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 03:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 02:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts