Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2006, 02:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed


No response over in HVAC so I apologize if this is a newb question but i searched and couldn't find the answer. I'm replacing a Honeywell manual thermostat with a Noma programmable. The Noma came with instructions for 2, 3, and 4 wire installation but the Honeywell i'm replacing has 8 wires, hence the confusion.

The Honeywell has the following connections:
  • 50/60Hz - 24V
  • com - 24V
  • heat
  • cool
  • com - fan
  • I - fan
  • II - fan
  • III - fan
The Noma has the following connections:
  • W
  • Y
  • R
  • G
and a jumper for HE or HG.

Anybody know what i should do?

dj petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 11:07 AM   #2
12 year IBEW member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29
Default

8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed


do you have a mulit stage furnace or multiple furnace units.

heavyduty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 12:49 AM   #3
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed


sounds like a multi stage furnace. You may need to get a different programmable T-stat. I hate to say it, but a lot of these things are gear specific. Especially, in a case like this. Eight wire t-stat sounds like you may need to call in a temp. control guy. Contact your manufacturer. See what units will jive with your unit.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 08:32 AM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed


Whats the model # on the honeywell t-stat?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 09:10 AM   #5
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Default

8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed


Wonder if he had heat the last two years??????
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 09:11 AM   #6
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Default

8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Whats the model # on the honeywell t-stat?

Maybe it was number 3, as in #3.

bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Tie-in of a Coleman electric furnace nilo HVAC 9 01-03-2007 03:45 PM
2 stage heat thermostat problem W1 AND w2 wires whatdoIdonow HVAC 6 11-26-2006 12:04 AM
8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed dj petey HVAC 5 04-15-2006 12:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.