Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2007, 08:22 AM   #1
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

8 Cu in receptacle boxes?


Is the only thing you could use those really shallow 8 cu in electrical boxes for like 1 receptical at the end of a run or a switch as part of a switch loop? Do I have it right that 8 cu in only allows two 14 awg conducts and a neutral plus one device, switch or receptacle?

J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 08:48 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Rewards Points: 0
Default

8 Cu in receptacle boxes?


One 14ga cable, one switch (or receptacle), one ground wire constitutes 10 cu in. Last time I checked, that was more than 8. To be code compliant, you can only use the 8 cu in box for one 14ga cable and a non-strap mounted device (smoke detector, light fixture, etc.)

HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2007, 09:48 AM   #3
They're all fixer-uppers
 
J187's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: MA
Posts: 991
Rewards Points: 0
Default

8 Cu in receptacle boxes?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
One 14ga cable, one switch (or receptacle), one ground wire constitutes 10 cu in. Last time I checked, that was more than 8. To be code compliant, you can only use the 8 cu in box for one 14ga cable and a non-strap mounted device (smoke detector, light fixture, etc.)
Yeah thats right. I had looked at this, found on the RD family handyman site. It is somewhat misleading, seems to say at first glance that each HOt and Neutral should be counted as one.

1 – for each hot and neutral wire entering the box
1 – for all the ground wires combined
1 – for all the cable clamps combined (if any)
2 – for each device (switch or outlet—but not light fixtures)
Multiply the total by 2 for 14 guage wire.


I know better, that each conductor, neutral or hot counts as one. Just caught me off guard. Those boxes are more useless than they seemed before...
J187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue plastic receptical/switch boxes used as junction boxes? alexz Electrical 7 04-09-2013 08:40 PM
Boxes recessed too deep rondo Electrical 10 12-01-2012 06:46 PM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 09:28 AM
20A or 15A receptacle ejlog Electrical 3 02-21-2005 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.