Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2009, 09:46 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Share |
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Beautiful!! I don't know why I was having so much trouble finding that. Thank you.

So I guess it's just as simple as re-routing the wires into and out of that?

I wonder if they have a water tank mount... I don't have any wall left

deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 09:52 PM   #17
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Quote:
Originally Posted by deeze View Post
Here's what I ended up doing. Fun DIY project...

I wanted to use the braided flex for both connections but it just didn't work out on the cold side. The bend would have been too hard.

I had to replace the shut-off valve along with the water heater. Pretty bad when the valve failed as well as the tank... it made the interim time a bit of a pain since I couldn't shut off water from there.

Electrical was MUCH easier than a tankless I'm certian...

Hard to tell from pic but can you mount it between the cold and hot lines just flex into timmer then flex back out to waterheater.The timmers are not that wide.use toggle bolts to mount.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 09:59 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Maybe already mentioned.....but
You need a pipe on that T&P valve down to the floor

I have 5 of the Intermatic timers at my house
1 for the pool pump, 4 for the Halloween/Christmas display
I guess I could use the pool one for the display too since its off season for the pool
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 10:04 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Great idea. I have 7" between the pipes but 10" on the right hand side of the cold. The ideal place would be mounted on the wall above the washing machine. My electrical flex and wire isn't long enough to reach that though. I could probably fenagle it though.

(I think it may be hard for the wife to reach between the two pipes)

Web site says it's only 5.25" wide which is good.

deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 10:07 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Maybe already mentioned.....but
You need a pipe on that T&P valve down to the floor
Hey Scuba_Dave... there was actually a pipe running behind the wall on the old unit. It's now just cut off behind the tank. The guy at Lowes said to ignore it... yeesh.

Does water come out of that on a regular basis? I could tie into it agian if it's something that get's used a lot.
deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 10:20 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Not on a reg basis, only in a failure
But at that point you do NOT want 140 degree water spraying around the tank
It must be connected to drain down near the floor or outside
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 10:26 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


10-4 I'll probably elbow around to the back of it and use the original escape route designed during the construction of the house. I just went out back by my pool and I see the mysterious outlet for it. Always wondered what that pipe was
deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 06:26 AM   #23
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


That flex does it come out of the wall ?If so put a j-box (4 square box with a blank don't forget to ground the box)Then flex across to your timmer then flex back out to the water heater.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:38 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


That makes good sense. Would the end result look like this image below? I'm not an electrician

deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 09:45 AM   #25
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


The timers have like 4 knock out holes 1/2 From j-box just use one flex to timer then come back out of timer with 1/2 flex to waterheater
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 09:56 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
The timers have like 4 knock out holes 1/2 From j-box just use one flex to timer then come back out of timer with 1/2 flex to waterheater
Ahh... yes, I would like to do that but I don't think the flex coming out of my wall will reach the location of my timer (where I'd like it). That's why I have the "BOX" in there. I'm not sure how to extend that wire without first going into a box.

Perhaps the wire coming out of the timer should be in a seperate flex going straight to the heater?

Last edited by deeze; 08-18-2009 at 10:02 AM.
deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 10:53 AM   #27
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,534
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Quote:
Originally Posted by deeze View Post
Ahh... yes, I would like to do that but I don't think the flex coming out of my wall will reach the location of my timer (where I'd like it). That's why I have the "BOX" in there. I'm not sure how to extend that wire without first going into a box.

Perhaps the wire coming out of the timer should be in a seperate flex going straight to the heater?
No need for separate conduit. Your solution will work just fine. Be sure the flex to the timer is large enough to handle four wires plus ground.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 10:59 AM   #28
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Or you could do it the other way just need different colors of wires or mark them so you know what is what
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 11:24 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Quote:
Originally Posted by deeze View Post
Ahh... yes, I would like to do that but I don't think the flex coming out of my wall will reach the location of my timer (where I'd like it). That's why I have the "BOX" in there. I'm not sure how to extend that wire without first going into a box.

Perhaps the wire coming out of the timer should be in a seperate flex going straight to the heater?
Put the timer where it will reach. You have all kinds of room.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:37 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 56
Default

77amp Tankless Water Heater on 150amp House???


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Put the timer where it will reach. You have all kinds of room.
Yeah... as I was discussing earlier, if I put the timer where the wire will reach then my wife won't be able to reach the timer... that's not good...


Quote:
Originally Posted by =300zx View Post
Or you could do it the other way just need different colors of wires or mark them so you know what is what.
THANKS 300zx... that is just what I'll do!


Last edited by deeze; 08-18-2009 at 12:40 PM.
deeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water heater problem bear1957 Plumbing 23 11-01-2007 03:53 PM
Tankless hot water heater??? psychocandy Plumbing 1 03-22-2007 10:41 PM
Installing a tankless water heater ? bdalekid Plumbing 3 02-26-2007 07:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.