Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2008, 08:21 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 28
Share |
Default

60AMP Subpanel Wire Size/Type Question


Would a Square-D QO120L125GC work as my subpanel? Says it is a "main lug", is a main lug a sub panel---seems to be designed this way? It has a grounding bar installed and is only $58 at Lowes. I have an extra 60AMP circuit breaker I could use as a main switch in this (back fed).

xv144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2008, 10:40 PM   #32
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

60AMP Subpanel Wire Size/Type Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by xv144 View Post
Would a Square-D QO120L125GC work as my subpanel? Says it is a "main lug", is a main lug a sub panel---seems to be designed this way? It has a grounding bar installed and is only $58 at Lowes. I have an extra 60AMP circuit breaker I could use as a main switch in this (back fed).

Yep it is legit and keep the netural and ground seperated on that location also make sure you get the main breaker tiedown kit { this is the only way to be legit on this set up }

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 05:09 AM   #33
elect, contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: niagara ontario
Posts: 44
Default

60AMP Subpanel Wire Size/Type Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by xv144 View Post
I don't believe they have codes in my area. I am out in the country. Don't plan on having inspectors.

get an inspection, the codes are everywhere thats why its called the "national electrical code" the inspection is not to anoy you but to make sure you did not make either a major or minor error that could either burn your house down, electricute someone, damage electrically whatever you plug in or hook up, or at the least fail to work due to a problem a few years later.

I have lots of people coment "its my house I can do as I please" or some kind of comment along those lines, but when something happens or someone gets hurt or killed, guess who becomes 100% liable. when you insurance company denies your claim after your house burns down as a result, then what? if you are confident that your doing the job right then it will pass inspection and there will be no problem.

Last edited by ACB Electric; 11-29-2008 at 05:12 AM.
ACB Electric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2008, 04:58 PM   #34
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

60AMP Subpanel Wire Size/Type Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
My area adopted the 08 code, but left the 05 code in for gfci's and arcfaults.

Connecticut skipped the 2008 altogether. YEE-HAW!!!

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
subpanel question Brik Electrical 2 11-30-2008 05:31 AM
Can i add a subpanel fed by 10/2 wire? qst4sno Electrical 25 04-25-2007 05:14 AM
Another Neutral/Ground/Bonding Question michael5 Electrical 3 01-30-2007 11:38 PM
Electrical receptacle replacement question sherlock Electrical 7 05-20-2005 03:33 PM
New fixture wiring question Unregistered Electrical 1 02-22-2004 07:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.