Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-26-2008, 08:06 AM   #1

Share |

60AMP Subpanel Wire Size/Type Question

Newbie here. I do woodworking in my garage as a hobby and have several tools there. With 2 electric space heaters on I keep tripping the existing circuit and need to upgrade. I want put a subpanel in my garage which is attached to my house via a breezeway. I live in PA.

I will be starting from an existing 200AMP Square D QO panel where I plan to install a 60 AMP breaker. Wire will run roughly 50' through my basement ceiling, run 10' under ground (easier than going through upstairs walls) in conduit, then run 15' in the garage. So roughly 80' total. I plan to attach it to a 100AMP subpanel, probably QO120M100C (OK?). What size and type of wire will I need? Will I need conduit with this wire in the house, or just underground?

I am considering 6-3NM-B ($2.56/ft at HD) and stripping the cover off the underground/conduit section (HD suggestion). A second option is 6/3THHN ($2.32/ft at local elec store). I'm trying to stay with 6AWG due to cost, 4AWG is a bit over my budget. Will either of these work?

xv144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 08:22 AM   #2
DIYer

Quote:
stripping the cover off the underground/conduit section (HD suggestion)
No need to do this.
Quote:
QO120M100C
That load center comes with a 100 amp main breaker installed. You don't need a main breaker in your sub panel. You can use a cheaper main lug panel since it's protected upstream.

You need to keep the neutral and ground separate in the subpanel too. This panel just has one neutral bus.

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 08:44 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor

You can not use nm-b for the underground part. You must use 6/3 uf , or transition to conduit underground.
Old 11-26-2008, 08:52 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post