Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 07:30 PM   #16
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

60Amp breaker for welder...


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjgogo View Post
Most 220 mig welders come with a 50 Amp plug, unless you are going very high end, My Millermatic 180 has a 50 amp plug but max power consumption is listed at 21.7 amps. Output is listed as 180amps

It is my understanding that you cannot put wiring on a 50 outlet that will not support 50amps So I ran #6 to the garage.

You will have to look at the welder to see. Some of the big 220 units do use more that 50 amps but those are pretty expensive and more industrial.
You need to look at the full range of wire feed welders that are on the market especially those intend for light use and home use.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 09:24 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 0
Default

60Amp breaker for welder...


whats the model of welder, i have a pretty big one (225A) at my shop and it runs ok at 30 amp 240V fuses (listed at 40 amp input, but since i never runs it at 100% heat it doesn't blow fuses) but it does come with a factory 50 amp plug
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 09:28 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 0
Default

60Amp breaker for welder...


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
You need to look at the full range of wire feed welders that are on the market especially those intend for light use and home use.
I did and the smallest from Miller is a 90amp output that runs on 110 voltage. Hobart has a 135 output that runs on 110

There is nothing worth using that only outputs 60 amps. My 180amp miller is considered an upscale home use unit.

My Lincoln tombstone stick will do some heavy duty stuff though but it can pull a full 50amps AC at the highest setting.

I don't know about the garbage from Harbor Freight but I wouldn't use any of that crap for anything I care about. Either Miller, Hobart, (same owner) or Lincoln is about all that is good. I have tried no name welders and you get what you pay for.
rjgogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 12:32 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 0
Default

60Amp breaker for welder...


I finally got my hands on the welder. Looks like a good one, and although Lincoln recommends a 40 amp breaker, my father in law is using it with a 30A breaker and he's not had any issues. The welder is a Lincoln Mig Pak 15. It apparently requires 230V input at 20A.

2 years ago I wired a dedicated 220 circuit for my tablesaw in my garage. I am pretty sure I used 10-guage wire. The breaker is 20 AMP.

What I am thinking of doing is changing the receptacle to fit the plug on the welder (I think it's a 50AMP plug), and then switching the plug out on my tablesaw so I can use them both on the same circuit. I'll never need to use both at the same time unless I grow two more arms

I am considering plugging it in and trying to weld with the 20AMP breaker. Is this a bad idea? If it blows the breaker, I'll have to double check my wiring, and potentially upgrade the breaker if the wire is heavy enough.

Does this make sense?

Last edited by longshanks; 11-07-2011 at 12:40 PM.
longshanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 02:19 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 0
Default

60Amp breaker for welder...


if wire is 10 gage you can use a 30a breaker
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 06:00 PM   #21
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

60Amp breaker for welder...


The manual says the welder comes with at 6-50P. It requires 20 amps of input current to produce the rated output of 130 amps.
The mfg recommends a 40 amp breaker and #8 copper wire rated at 75 C

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI Breaker Keeps Tripping Muinchja Electrical 30 08-25-2011 04:54 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
I can "double" the wires to each breaker in my breaker panel right? Piedmont Electrical 40 10-01-2008 11:18 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.