Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2009, 12:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 305
Share |
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


If I have 12 50W recessed lights connected to a dimmer switch and another 4 50W lights connected to another normal switch the dimmer wattage rating only counts if the power is going through it to the lights and not all the lights on the circuit right?

RyanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 12:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanD View Post
If I have 12 50W recessed lights connected to a dimmer switch and another 4 50W lights connected to another normal switch the dimmer wattage rating only counts if the power is going through it to the lights and not all the lights on the circuit right?
Correct, though its usually a good idea to size your dimmer to the max load that could possibly be put on it with the rating of the cans. Different trims will allow for different wattage of bulbs to be used, its best to plan ahead in the event you need to put in brighter bulbs. Also is a good idea to over size the dimmer a little bit, I believe this is usually good pratice to help prolong the life of the dimmer.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 12:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 305
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


The 1000W are expensive(as a three way switch).
RyanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 12:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


That's why we split the switch legs up

Never load a dimmer to it's max.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 12:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 999
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanD View Post
The 1000W are expensive(as a three way switch).
Likely you'll be "ok" but you are right at your 600 watt limit. If you keep the kights dimmed for a long period of time you will likely shorten the life of the dimmer. Does your dimmer have plenty of room to breathe in the box? Are you using a metal or plastic box? If its metal that will help with the heat disipation some.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 02:49 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
That's why we split the switch legs up

Never load a dimmer to it's max.
+1 !

If a 1000 watt dimmer is too expensive use a regular switch.
How much did 12 recessed lights cost???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 03:15 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Massachusetts.
Posts: 305
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
+1 !

If a 1000 watt dimmer is too expensive use a regular switch.
How much did 12 recessed lights cost???
It's hooked up to a regular switch now and we would just like it dimmer while watching tv. What I think I'm going to do is keep the three other lights on the three-way switch and get a single-pole dimmer to control the other 12. Those are only around $30, for some reason the three-ways jump way up in price.

The recessed lights ended up being around $600 all said and done.
RyanD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 09:27 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New England/Mass
Posts: 88
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Anyone know if you need a certain style/typ box for a 1000 watt dimmer???
johnpma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 10:28 PM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Nope, just a regular box.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:15 AM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,401
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Check the dimmer. It will have fins on it that possibly might not allow a second switch to be right next to it in a double box.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:23 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New England/Mass
Posts: 88
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


I have a 1000W Lutron dimmer next to a 600W dimmer in a deep plastic box. I had to break the inner fins off to accommodate each other. This effects the watt handling capabilities of the switch based on the MFG instructions.. But my concern is HOT On the 1000W which is actually 800W after removing the fins I have (8) IC20 Juno cans with 75 watt bulbs. When fully illuminated the switch is so hot you can't touch the alum face plate. Is this typical??? Just concerned...
johnpma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 09:26 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Nothing wrong with loading a dimmer to the max, they are rated at a certain wattage for a reason, so a 600 watt dimmer is good for 600 watts. it really is that simple.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 11:51 PM   #13
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpma View Post
I have a 1000W Lutron dimmer next to a 600W dimmer in a deep plastic box. I had to break the inner fins off to accommodate each other. This effects the watt handling capabilities of the switch based on the MFG instructions.. But my concern is HOT On the 1000W which is actually 800W after removing the fins I have (8) IC20 Juno cans with 75 watt bulbs. When fully illuminated the switch is so hot you can't touch the alum face plate. Is this typical??? Just concerned...
I've seen derating tables from Lutron before for their dimmers, but I think they were only for the same model of dimmers side-by-side. The 600W dimmer would have to be derated too, and probably more than if it were next to another 600W unit. What's the load on the 600W?

Anyway, if it's too hot to touch then something is definately wrong -- at least you have a metal faceplate to help sink some of that heat.

From Lutron's site (genernally true):

During normal operation, dimmers do get warm to the touch. Wallbox dimmer efficiency is typically around 99%. The other 1% is dissipated in the dimmer as heat. So a dimmer on a 600 W load would produce around 6 watts of heat. This is on the order of a small night light. Operating on its rated load, Lutron dimmers will stay below the UL limits of 140 F (60 C).

You could have quite a few watts of heat generated between your 2 dimmers.
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 05:31 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New England/Mass
Posts: 88
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Thanks ScottR I'm gonna see if I can get a temp reading off it. The 600W dimmer has a very limited load on it and does not get too warm.

The 1000W dimmer only gets warm/hot at brightest setting. If I kick it down a bit it cools right down. Maybe it's the way it is.....not sure

Double checked all the wiring ect and it's all fine...
johnpma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2009, 10:21 AM   #15
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Default

600W dimmer, limits are what's connected to the switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by johnpma View Post
Thanks ScottR I'm gonna see if I can get a temp reading off it. The 600W dimmer has a very limited load on it and does not get too warm.

The 1000W dimmer only gets warm/hot at brightest setting. If I kick it down a bit it cools right down. Maybe it's the way it is.....not sure

Double checked all the wiring ect and it's all fine...
Good deal about the 600W.

Even if the 1000W falls within UL limits on temp., it's still hazardous (or at least inconvenient) to have a scalding hot wall plate. Though I guess I'm preaching to the choir on that. If you can split up the load on the 1000W dimmer, that might be your best option, but obviously could be a major PITA.

ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
Dimmer Switch Vandiyan Electrical 21 12-15-2008 07:23 PM
Bathroom electronic dimmer gets reset by exhaust fan switch? BinaryJay Electrical 3 07-16-2008 10:57 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.