Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 09:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

600 Watt Dimmers Wired Right, But Not Working?


I have a 3-way switch next to a single pole. Each control 4 cans in my basement (65 Watts each, Halogen). I put in a 3-way dimmer and a single-pole dimmer (both 600 W rated rated Lutrons). It's the first stage of the 3-way so I'm good there. I got all the wiring correct, doing it the same as in the regulars. I switched the 2 carry wires on the 3 way to check it out and makes sure I had it right. On both dimmers ... the dimming function doesn't work? The switches all otherwise work correct. Any ideas on what the could be going on? I'm anxious to get these recessed cans dimmable. Thanks!
ChaunceyMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 01:05 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

600 Watt Dimmers Wired Right, But Not Working?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaunceyMN View Post
I have a 3-way switch next to a single pole. Each control 4 cans in my basement (65 Watts each, Halogen). I put in a 3-way dimmer and a single-pole dimmer (both 600 W rated rated Lutrons). It's the first stage of the 3-way so I'm good there. I got all the wiring correct, doing it the same as in the regulars. I switched the 2 carry wires on the 3 way to check it out and makes sure I had it right. On both dimmers ... the dimming function doesn't work? The switches all otherwise work correct. Any ideas on what the could be going on? I'm anxious to get these recessed cans dimmable. Thanks!
What it connected on the other three way switch?? is that on switch loop or not that will make the differnce on the way it connected.

But what model Lutron dimmers you have there due there are couple way to deal with it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:15 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default

600 Watt Dimmers Wired Right, But Not Working?


Thank you very much for considering this! I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "what is connected on the other 3-way switch?" or if it's on "switch loop". I have a set of 4 lights that are controlled by two switches. This is what I'm calling the "3-ways". I installed the dimmer on the first switch in the series. I then have a single-pole swith that controls a different set of 4 lights. That switch happens to be right next to the first 3-way switch. It is on the same circuit at the panel. I know that the dimmer on the 3-way doesn not work on its own. The two dimmer switches together don't work. I'm not sure if just the single-pole dimmer would work (if I returned the 3-way dimmer receptacle to the standard receptacle). I will try that later and post the result. By "not work", I mean "not dim the lights". That is, the single-pole switch and the two 3-way switches work fine in regards to on/off. It seems unlikely to me that both dimmer switches are faulty. I will also post the model of the dimmers later. Thanks!
ChaunceyMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:24 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

600 Watt Dimmers Wired Right, But Not Working?


Are the halogen lights 120 volt or low voltage?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:26 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default

600 Watt Dimmers Wired Right, But Not Working?


120 v
ChaunceyMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 10:42 AM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

600 Watt Dimmers Wired Right, But Not Working?


You should be able to dim them just like an incandescent. This is the lutron wiring diagrams which one is yours ... scroll down on the menu to 'wiring diagrams'

http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum...0Addendums.pdf
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 09:34 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default

600 Watt Dimmers Wired Right, But Not Working?


Thank you for the Lutron information. The wiring diagrams in my case are the #1 (single-pole wiring) and #6 (3-way wiring, with control on the line side). Still haven't figured this one out. I have the Ariadni type, which is marketed as the Toggler brand at Home Depot. The model #s are TG-600PR-WH (single-pole) and TG-603PR-WH (3-way). http://www.homedepot.com/buy/lightin...ite-52169.html & http://www.homedepot.com/buy/lightin...ite-52165.html I notice that if the 3-way dimmer is switched on with the dimmer all the way in the on position, the lights will flicker at high frequency. This stops if slider is moved all the way down (lights still on though, as if it were a regular switch).
ChaunceyMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 02:11 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default

600 Watt Dimmers Wired Right, But Not Working?


The issue was the bulbs. Not enough wattage pulled from the eco bulbs to dim them, unless you get the special dimmable ones. Never liked them anyway. Swapped them all out for standard incandescent bulbs and problem solved. Thanks!
ChaunceyMN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3-way, 600 w, dimmer, halogen


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Lutron Maestro IR dimmers jkr77 Electrical 5 02-28-2011 08:38 AM
Receptacle stopped working lovetobuild Electrical 3 02-11-2011 10:05 AM
Some things not working on a circuit while others are? speedster1 Electrical 7 11-24-2010 06:23 AM
Maytag IntelliDry pye/4500 Dryer not working 57_Hemi Electrical 2 11-19-2010 09:28 PM
GE fridge evaporator fan change and still not working Trish Appliances 2 03-30-2008 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.