Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2010, 03:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Share |
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Trying to think long term here.

I am still planning out the 16 x 20 detached garage about 125 feet from the main service panel on the house

The garage at first will be used as a quilt room. Building it is as a garage to widen its appeal when it comes times to sell the place.

Along those lines, the building will be built with a few 120 volt outlets, one ceiling fan, and some recessed lights.

I am pretty confident for these basic needs a 60 amp sub panel should be plenty but what I do wonder is can someone ever run 220 to the garage off a 60 amp panel???

Example say i wanted to run Lincoln 175 or 180 Mig welder - a 220 welder.

Can you do that on a 60 amp sub panel or would this be too much???

Thanks,
Mike

canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 04:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


It all depends upon the rating of the welder & required power

A 60a panel will be a 240v panel
Not that many people ever run a 120v panel

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 04:26 PM   #3
Member
 
jlhaslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Canadian Rockies
Posts: 1,280
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Upgrade to a 100 Amp Panel now if you can. Use a 60 Amp for the Feed Breaker and upgrade it when you need to.
The price difference in the panel won't be much (I don't think).
jlhaslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 04:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


I had only a couple 120v circuits in my detached 24x30 workshop/garage - and I recently upgraded to a subpanel fed by a 60a breaker in my main panel. I found it to be a good balance of cost and effort while providing ample power for tools, lights, etc. I have large table saw, welder, heater, compressor, chop saw, lights, etc.

I used a $55 100a GE brand workshop subpanel from Lowes, #6 THWN wire in conduit from the main panel 60a breaker, etc. Then in the shop are three 240v circuits, several 120v circuits for outlets, interior and exterior lights, and a RV recepticle.

Details of how to make it happen are readily available via search as this is a common topic.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 05:31 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
I had only a couple 120v circuits in my detached 24x30 workshop/garage - and I recently upgraded to a subpanel fed by a 60a breaker in my main panel. I found it to be a good balance of cost and effort while providing ample power for tools, lights, etc. I have large table saw, welder, heater, compressor, chop saw, lights, etc.

I used a $55 100a GE brand workshop subpanel from Lowes, #6 THWN wire in conduit from the main panel 60a breaker, etc. Then in the shop are three 240v circuits, several 120v circuits for outlets, interior and exterior lights, and a RV recepticle.

Details of how to make it happen are readily available via search as this is a common topic.
Thanks for the knowledge

Sounds like there is not much of a cost difference between the 60 and the 100. I will do some more research.

Only concern, and need to call some companies and get some bids is can my 200 amp (assuming the main board is a 200 amp on the house) handle a 100 amp sub panel.

Thanks,
Mike
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2010, 06:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


My 200 panel has (2) 100a subs & a 60a sub
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:02 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
My 200 panel has (2) 100a subs & a 60a sub
Wow, thats impressive.

Good news to know.

Thank you.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:02 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by canyonbc View Post
Sounds like there is not much of a cost difference between the 60 and the 100.
The dollar and percentage difference is quite a bit, about double or more for materials when I worked it up - the cost delta is in the larger wire and the 100a breaker for the main panel, not the subpanel. Since I could not see a need for the additional power, I went with 60a.

I have learned the "why nots" really run up the cost of projects, so I really try to eliminate them...
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:06 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
The dollar and percentage difference is quite a bit, about double or more for materials when I worked it up - the cost delta is in the larger wire and the 100a breaker for the main panel, not the subpanel. Since I could not see a need for the additional power, I went with 60a.

I have learned the "why nots" really run up the cost of projects, so I really try to eliminate them...
Yes, yes they can.

Trying to keep the cost down but also want to weigh out what is going to be the best long term budget.

Well have a budget want to stick in, will get the prices for both and make this decision at another time.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 03:28 AM   #10
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


At 125 feet, you will have to upsize the wire to compensate for voltage drop. I came up with #4 copper or #3 aluminum, for a 60 amp sub.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 11:57 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnJ0906 View Post
At 125 feet, you will have to upsize the wire to compensate for voltage drop. I came up with #4 copper or #3 aluminum, for a 60 amp sub.
John

Thank you for the advice an information.

A couple questions if you dont mind?
Would you recommend copper over aluminum for any specfic reason or visa versa?
If you do not mind sharing how did you equate a #4 copper for the 125 feet with a 60 amp sub panel? Am i safe to assume there is no website to equate (something like they have for equating cubic volume of concrete) or a calculator ( like they have for figuring how many studs in while)?

Thanks again
mike
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:03 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Voltage drop is calculated by the distance & the load
So for a 60a panel the Max drop is around 7v
Upgrading to #4 wire makes it only 4.5v drop =3.8%
Usually try to keep it under 5% is my understanding

If your load is going to be 40a or less on the 60a panel then you are OK with #6


http://www.csgnetwork.com/voltagedropcalc.html
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 01:42 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Voltage drop is calculated by the distance & the load
So for a 60a panel the Max drop is around 7v
Upgrading to #4 wire makes it only 4.5v drop =3.8%
Usually try to keep it under 5% is my understanding

If your load is going to be 40a or less on the 60a panel then you are OK with #6


http://www.csgnetwork.com/voltagedropcalc.html
Thank you for the information and website, I am going to learn some more.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 01:51 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Sonoma County, California
Posts: 164
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Voltage drop is calculated by the distance & the load
So for a 60a panel the Max drop is around 7v
Upgrading to #4 wire makes it only 4.5v drop =3.8%
Usually try to keep it under 5% is my understanding

If your load is going to be 40a or less on the 60a panel then you are OK with #6


http://www.csgnetwork.com/voltagedropcalc.html
This question is for all.

Ok, I have been playing around with the site you suggested, great calculator thank you.

To help my self understand

In the required data entry of the calculator this is a box that states

Select Voltage and Phase - Would this be, what the power of the main panel (so I am pretty sure the main panel is a 200 amp so I would click "240 volts 1 phase" or is this something completely different???

But then it says enter load, (feeling quite dumb at this point) enter load would that be the new sub panel or my starting panel?

Thanks everyone again for all the info.

I am going to do what I should have done and cruise around reading the suggested sight.
canyonbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 02:14 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

60 amp sub panel for a detached garage


240v 1 phase, 6 AWG is size of wire, 60a is the load - size of the sub-panel
OR anticipated Load
I always prefer my Load to be LESS then the breaker size & wire can handle
Distance - 1 way

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install sub panel in detached garage 70' away MEC Electrical 5 02-09-2009 05:31 PM
Detached garage setup - Switch loop setup jamiedolan Electrical 3 02-07-2009 12:08 PM
New detached garage, wiring, questions gp_wa Electrical 9 12-04-2008 03:10 PM
Detached Garage Sub Panel Grounding Q integlikewhoa Electrical 13 01-01-2008 06:22 AM
detached garage Kapt Electrical 12 01-17-2007 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.