Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2010, 12:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


please advise proper conduit size and correct gauge of wire
that I should be using, the plan is to come out of the existing
homes all in one meter box, it has extra C/B spaces,
I want to put is a 60 amp or 70 amp 2 pole circuit breaker to
then feed approximately 50 foot, to the Garage, where I will
put in a small sub panel. can I use 3/4 " EMT for this run, or
do I need to jump up to 1 " also, I was hoping that I could use
# 6 gauge THHN stranded wire, a White, Black, Red, & Green.
So, will have to pull 4 wires, please advise Code.
The Sub Panel is main lug only, so it will not have a main c/b.
Thanks PIGEONS

PIGEONS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 12:36 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


You DO need a main breaker or some from of disconnect for a panel in a detached structure.

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 12:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


I don't need a Main in the sub panel, I think it has
something to do with distance, we are only 50 foot
from the main House meter box.
The sub panel will be fed by a 2 pole 60 or 70 anp
220 v this will be like a main, will kill all power if needed.
This Breaker will be in the main houses meter box.
Thanks PIGEONS
PIGEONS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 12:53 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
You DO need a main breaker or some from of disconnect for a panel in a detached structure.
Speedy, Isn't there something in the code about 6 or fewer disconnects? Would that apply to this situation?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 12:56 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Speedy, Isn't there something in the code about 6 or fewer disconnects? Would that apply to this situation?
It is doubtful that a 60 or 70 amp sub-panel is going to have a six space (or less) panel.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 12:57 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by PIGEONS View Post
I don't need a Main in the sub panel, I think it has
something to do with distance,
we are only 50 foot
from the main House meter box.
The sub panel will be fed by a 2 pole 60 or 70 anp
220 v this will be like a main, will kill all power if needed.
This Breaker will be in the main houses meter box.
Thanks PIGEONS
You welcome.

"You THINK", yet you are WRONG.

Would you like the code article and section to support my statements?
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 08:46 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


Alright, you state that I also will need a Main cb in the sub panel.
That would of course be a good thing, basically ending up with
two mains, one at the existing house meter box, and then another in the Sub Panel. the Sub panel is rated : for : Main Lugs Only.
yes, it is a full 12 circuit, or more if you use those thin 1/2 size c/bs,
which I have no intension of using, now, back to this Main circuit breaker being required in this new Sub Panel, I have been advised it is
not needed because the distance to the existing house meter Box is
fairly close at 50 foot, if it is code than I will follow the rules,
Would that mean that I back feed a two pole 60 or 70 c/b and call it the Main for the Sub Panel, I can do that, and just not use the Lugs.
So, please RE-ADVISE, because, I see many sub panels, M L O
installed, with NO main c/b. ? ? thanks PIGEONS
PIGEONS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 08:49 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Speedy, Isn't there something in the code about 6 or fewer disconnects? Would that apply to this situation?
The Garage is attached, is part of the house. PIGEONS
PIGEONS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2010, 08:53 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
You DO need a main breaker or some from of disconnect for a panel in a detached structure.
This Sub Panel is in the Garage ( or will be ) the Garage is attached
to the House, the conduit run is only going to be approx. 50 foot.
PIGEONS
PIGEONS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 07:26 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,785
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by PIGEONS View Post
This Sub Panel is in the Garage ( or will be ) the Garage is attached
to the House
, the conduit run is only going to be approx. 50 foot.
PIGEONS
Well this would have been good to know from the start.

When we hear "I am running conduit 50' out to the garage to a sub-panel" we unfortunately assume it is detached.

NO, for a panel in an ATTACHED garage you DO NOT need a main breaker or disconnect.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 11:06 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

60 or 70 amps to small sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
It is doubtful that a 60 or 70 amp sub-panel is going to have a six space (or less) panel.

Does that matter? Inspectors cannot inspect for the future. Regardless of the number of spare panel spaces, if no more than 6 handles are installed at the time of the inspection it would be compliant.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM
How to determine amps coming to main panel? RyanP Electrical 16 08-26-2009 03:23 PM
100A Fuse Panel Replacement Charlie1101 Electrical 4 07-25-2009 02:22 PM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM
Multiple Sub Panel Installation Handyman2007 Electrical 26 12-31-2007 05:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.