Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2012, 12:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

#6 wire splice to #12 for dusk to dawn


Couldn't come up with a good title. But the previous homeowner had a garage in the back and later tore down. I found the underground cable which is 6 guage and wanted to install a dusk to dawn light without having to run new cable. At the light I spliced in to it with 12 gauge, back at the panel its setup for 240 on 50 amp breakers. Can I just remove the white/neutral and splice it with #12 and tie it in the neutral section? Should I just leave the #6 black on the 50 or should I splice it with #12 and run it in to a 20 amp breaker? Or is all this nuts? I wanted to avoid trenching new wire but if this is a big safety risk I will. Thanks in advanced, let me know if you need more info.

hopskeens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:40 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,680
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

#6 wire splice to #12 for dusk to dawn


Quote:
Originally Posted by hopskeens View Post
I found the underground cable which is 6 guage...
back at the panel its setup for 240 on 50 amp breakers.

Can I just remove... both wires from the 2P 50A breaker...
and attach the black to a 1P 15 or 20A breaker or other light circuit...
and the white to the neutral bar?
Why, yes you can.
Be just as careful at the other end mounting your light and sensor.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
hopskeens (01-22-2012)
Old 01-22-2012, 12:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

#6 wire splice to #12 for dusk to dawn


Was searching and found this 50 Amp Circuit - Splice 6 Gauge Cable to 12-3? , seems like I should do 12 on both ends?
hopskeens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:49 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

#6 wire splice to #12 for dusk to dawn


Thanks Tarheel, didn't realize you had answered until I posted the 2nd time.
hopskeens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 02:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,964
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

#6 wire splice to #12 for dusk to dawn


The suggestion is made to splice on a short length (a pigtail) of #12 gauge wire at the other end (in the panel) also, to remind a future owner or electrician that this is a 20 amp circuit.

A two conductor cable (black and white) can be for 240 volts or for 120 volts but not both. Even for 120 volts only you can put a subpanel at the garage location with 15 and 20 amp breakers for lights, etc., and keep the #6 line on the 50 amp breaker in the main panel.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 01-22-2012 at 02:27 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-22-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 08:36 AM
Connecting new dishwasher and garbage disposal -- no ground wire in the conduits. arca Electrical 17 03-28-2011 02:06 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor Leo Caproni HVAC 5 10-18-2010 01:23 PM
Is there a legal/safe way to splice wire without a jbox? Red Squirrel Electrical 11 09-19-2010 08:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.