Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 05:06 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Share |
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Ok, great! Thanks k_buz, I appreciate the help! I will price #2 AL and see which way I am gonna go after that.




Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You wanted to limit the voltage drop that's why you are using #4CU or #2AL. You could put in a larger breaker (up to 90A), but you run the possibility of the voltage drop you were trying to avoid if the load reaches 80A.

You should be able to fit #4's in a 60A breaker.

stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 11:52 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


If I was to just do a new 100 amp service on this detached garage instead of running a sub panel to it, is installing a new service for garages pretty much the same (code wise) as residential installs?

To do a sub panel it will cost me $900 in materials + $170 to rent the trencher.

To do a new service, it will only cost me about $350 including insp fees.
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:15 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,058
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Would there be an additional monthly meter fee with the new service?
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:23 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Yeah, it is $5.00 per month. Even at 12 years later, the monthly meter fee + the new service cost would finally equal the same cost as running a sub panel. Plus I wouldn't have to tear up the yard and I would have 100 amps at garage, instead of 60

I'm just not sure if there any additional code requirements for doing a new service in a garage vs a house.


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Would there be an additional monthly meter fee with the new service?
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:32 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,058
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


That sounds very reasonable as long as they don't increase. A friend used to have no meter charges but they have crept up to 15 per.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:11 AM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,492
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


A drop of 6% is not going to worry most overhead lights,
Neither is it going to effect a space heater to any large degree.
However things like table saws and compressors are likely to
be effected more than the lights.
Most motors require a large start up surge,
This is where you might have problems.
For long term compatability use the largest wire
you can afford, this will minimise any problems.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 07:11 AM   #37
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,578
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Some power companies will not allow two services at the same address. If they do the second meter is billed at a commercial rate for consumption.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:23 AM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Thanks guys for the replies. My power company will allow a second meter here, but they charge commercial rates as Jim pointed out. The commercial rate is not very much more than residential here, with the amount of power I will be using it would not be much of an increase.

My question I am unsure of is, is there anything different regarding the install in a garage that needs to be done vs an install in a residential dwelling?

Around here (and probably everywhere else to) electrical work in commercial spaces is installed a bit different than in residential dwellings. Like no romex, anti short bushings must be used, etc...

Would that apply to garages on a residential property as well?
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 06:07 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Ok it appears I am back to the sub panel setup instead of a new service. Apparently I have some clearance issues with the service drop because the neighbors garage is only 2' away from drop and I need 5', sigh.....

When running pvc conduit from main panel to sub panel, does the ground need to be insulated or can solid bare copper be used?
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 07:58 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


To make pulling the wire easier, can insulated stranded copper wire be used for ground? Would I go with #8 stranded as well or do you have to go larger when using stranded -vs- solid?

http://www.homedepot.com/buy/electri...l#.UC2WsKNXnmc
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:06 PM   #41
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,578
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


You can use solid or stranded, although stranded will be easier to pull.

Solid vs stranded sizes carry the same ampacity.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:15 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Thanks Jim...

If I absolutely need to use more than 360 degrees in bends between pull points, can some sort of junction box (that can be buried) be added between points to add another pull point to stay within code?

My current layout is using 450 degrees in bends and I'm not sure how I can get this down because of lot size/boundary lines.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You can use solid or stranded, although stranded will be easier to pull.

Solid vs stranded sizes carry the same ampacity.
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:21 PM   #43
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,578
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Can you draw out the proposed conduit run? Fittings like LBs count as access points.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:56 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


The 450 degrees in bends I currently have are between both LB's.

I don't have drawing of lot size handy that includes all the boundary lines and easement, but my lot is pie shaped with a narrow L shaped walkway (easment) connecting to my detached garage that I have to follow when running the conduit.

Just coming down off the LB's in both spots into 90's underground are half the bends allowed and I still got about 130' to go with only 180 degrees more allowed. They sure don't give you many more bends allowable

I just figured if there was some sort of pull point I could add in the middle of run, either completely buried or surface mounted (depending on how it looks), I would be ok.







Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Can you draw out the proposed conduit run? Fittings like LBs count as access points.
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 09:23 PM   #45
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,578
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


You could install a handhole box flush with the dirt as a pull point.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resistor/Led and Basic Electricity Questions Khivar Electrical 19 04-16-2012 06:15 PM
efficiency voltage drop wire gauge jackwashere Electrical 6 02-18-2012 08:33 PM
Wire, Conduit and Voltage Drop Questions kikdrum Electrical 9 03-01-2009 06:50 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Voltage Drop Manuel6 Electrical 1 01-16-2007 05:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.