Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2012, 04:06 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Share |
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


I'm confused, I thought you said you were running individual conductors in PVC/conduit?

Could you post the link to what you found?

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:08 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


I originally was planning on running individual THWN conductors in conduit, but due to cost I am thinking of running 2-2-2-4 SE cable in conduit.



Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'm confused, I thought you said you were running individual conductors in PVC/conduit?

Could you post the link to what you found?
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:08 PM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekem View Post
I am pricing 2-2-2-4 SE cable at $1.42/ft
That isn't 2/0 that's (3) #2's and a #4 ground. You are not going to want to pull SER 160' thru PVC.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:10 PM   #19
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


OK, I see the confusion, they were talking about #2, but you posted 2/0. You still aren't going to want to pull SER thru PVC.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:11 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


I'm sorry, I mixed up the names... I was going to assemble the conduit as I go instead of pulling it through all at once... Is this gonna be a problem?



Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
That isn't 2/0 that's (3) #2's and a #4 ground. You are not going to want to pull SER 160' thru PVC.
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:13 PM   #21
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


You can't do that. You must assemble the conduit complete, then pull the wire in.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:18 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Yes, I understand that is required. Is it really a problem to assmeble it as you go, safety wise?

What size conduit should I use to make pulling it through easier?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You can't do that. You must assemble the conduit complete, then pull the wire in.
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:22 PM   #23
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Yes it is. PVC glue is very corrosive when wet. Plus it helps ensure you don't have to many bends in the conduit.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:24 PM   #24
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,506
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Type SE cable cannot be buried, even if in conduit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-08-2012)
Old 08-15-2012, 04:25 PM   #25
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Oh, there you go. I didn't know this because I've never wanted to do it, but you cannot use type SE cable underground.

Quote:
338.12 Uses Not Permitted.
(A) Service-Entrance Cable. Service-entrance cable (SE)
shall not be used under the following conditions or in the
following locations:
(1) Where subject to physical damage unless protected in
accordance with 230.50(A)
(2) Underground with or without a raceway
(3) For exterior branch circuits and feeder wiring unless
the installation complies with the provisions of Part I of
Article 225 and is supported in accordance with 334.30
or is used as messenger-supported wiring as permitted
in Part II of Article 396
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:28 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Ok.... Thanks for all the replies, I appreciate the help. So really my only option for a 60 amp sub panel going 160 feet is #4 THWN correct?
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:31 PM   #27
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


No, you could use #2 XHHW. Its an aluminum single conductor, but I would use #4 CU if the 60A breaker was rated to accept it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:38 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 203
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


I was going to use Murray MP260 breaker, how do I know if it is rated for #4 conductors?

Also, If I run straight conduit main panel to sub panel using # 4 THWN and #8 ground, am I able to use 70 amp breaker or no because of the distance?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
No, you could use #2 XHHW. Its an aluminum single conductor, but I would use #4 CU if the 60A breaker was rated to accept it.
stevekem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:38 PM   #29
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,975
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekem View Post
I am pricing 2-2-2-4 SE cable at $1.42/ft
delete, it been said already.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2012, 04:47 PM   #30
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

6% voltage drop for 60 amp sub panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stevekem View Post
I was going to use Murray MP260 breaker, how do I know if it is rated for #4 conductors?

Also, If I run straight conduit main panel to sub panel using # 4 THWN and #8 ground, am I able to use 70 amp breaker or no because of the distance?
You wanted to limit the voltage drop that's why you are using #4CU or #2AL. You could put in a larger breaker (up to 90A), but you run the possibility of the voltage drop you were trying to avoid if the load reaches 80A.

You should be able to fit #4's in a 60A breaker.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resistor/Led and Basic Electricity Questions Khivar Electrical 19 04-16-2012 06:15 PM
efficiency voltage drop wire gauge jackwashere Electrical 6 02-18-2012 08:33 PM
Wire, Conduit and Voltage Drop Questions kikdrum Electrical 9 03-01-2009 06:50 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Voltage Drop Manuel6 Electrical 1 01-16-2007 05:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.