Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2005, 09:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

6/4 wire ?


Can someone help me? I am building a bathroom with hot water tank, washer and dryer inside. I was told by an electrician that I need 6/4 wire to run to my fuse box that is being used in the bathroom

Home Depot only goes up to 6/3 wire and could offer no suggestions. I have tried to locate the 6/4 wire on the internet with no success. I am beginning to think there is no such thing and even if there is - it is not common. I am sure I need something common - don't I?

The wiring on all the appliances are either three or 4 wires (including ground). I looked the 6/3 and it has 3 wires and a ground wire - why is that not good? Is there a reason anyone can think of that I must use a 6/4 which appears to be extremely hard to locate if at all?

Thanks,

Al
alabamaa@hotmail.com

alabamaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 07:11 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

6/4 wire ?


1 You can not put a fuse box or panel inside a bathroom.
2 I have never seen 6/4. I think you may need a new electrician!
3 6/3 with a ground is all that would be required to run a subpanel.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 06-01-2005 at 07:13 AM. Reason: forgot something!
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2005, 07:14 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

6/4 wire ?


IMO if this guy told you to get 6/4, knowing that it will feed a panel in a bathroom, he is NO electrician!

The correct term is 6/3. Actually 6/3NM w/ground. Not 6/4. 6/4 would be referring to heavy rubber cord not normally associated with residential work.
Also a panel in a bathroom is a major code violation.

I wonder why a sub-panel? Is this absolutely necessary? How far is the new laundry/bath from the main service? Is the main panel full?

If you do go the sub-panel route, putting it outside the bathroom, then 6/3 is a fine choice to feed it with. Use a double pole 50 amp breaker in the main panel.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which low voltage wire scozzer Electrical 2 02-18-2007 11:56 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected? gonzales9 Electrical 5 01-12-2006 09:10 PM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 10:58 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.