Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2012, 02:58 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
What is wrong with the existing wiring? Why can't you re-use it?
The walls and ceiling in the basement are about to be finished. I have the opportunity to upgrade/modernize the house. Plus, the existing wire has no ground and is 1950s era.

RockingM82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 03:03 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 20
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Adding 6-3 and some 14-50R receptacles is the best way when the walls are open. It gives you the option of just about any full size range. If you decide to buy a range that needs it you will have everything ready to go. When doing new construction with a builder that's what we ran to be sure that the homeowner could use just about any range.
Initially, this is what I was thinking. As I ask more friends and family to take a peek at their range circuit breakers they all come back with 40 amp. This house isn't the kind of house that will ever have a gourmet kitchen, so I'm leaning toward the 40 amp circuit.
RockingM82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 03:06 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 20
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Still working on pictures for you guys. Oven specs and the current wiring.
RockingM82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 07:48 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 20
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


The first photo shows the existing oven wires which end up in a 50 amp breaker. They're the ones with electrical tape.

The second is the info from the basement range.

Still working on the old old range. Waiting on someone to take a photo.
Attached Thumbnails
6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?-imagejpeg_3.jpg   6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?-imagejpeg_2.jpg  
RockingM82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:25 PM   #20
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Not much difference between 8-3 and 6-3. But check your new range to be sure. My parents cheap range needs a 50 amp circuit. Get both oven elements and all four burners going on the holidays and it can draw a lot.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 11:53 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: west of chicago
Posts: 368
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


I just took it up the shorts today as I bought 75' of 8-3 for the same

application..$136.00 plus tax at Menards.
High Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 12:02 AM   #22
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Now you know why electricians "charge so much".
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (04-28-2012)
Old 04-28-2012, 06:19 AM   #23
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,801
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
My parents cheap range needs a 50 amp circuit.
How did you determine this?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:31 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 20
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Still waiting on feedback from those pictures. Anyone know what is taped that old wire?

RockingM82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I find good contractor and building material suppliers? denniis Off Topic 5 03-10-2009 09:27 AM
What do YOU think of this HARDI siding deal?? justdon Remodeling 3 09-16-2007 11:54 AM
Bought tools today, good or bad deal? Mr. Michael Tools 3 02-13-2007 12:39 PM
Would this be a good deal for a roofer or is it a dumb thought Doug Crf Roofing/Siding 5 05-09-2006 10:44 PM
Building Labor Costs SunNdeLight Building & Construction 2 09-17-2005 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.