Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2012, 08:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


I'm upgrading the range oven circuits in my property, so I'll need about 150' of 6-3. The cost is almost prohibitive though. Anyone know of any good buys on this stuff?

RockingM82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:41 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Check the specs on the range, if you can put it on a 40A circuit (many can be) and you can use 8-3.

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:54 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,783
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


150 feet for a range?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 08:54 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Or use #6AL SER. MUCH cheaper.

Typical range circuits do NOT have to be #6cu on a 50A breaker.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 20
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Thanks for all the replies. I am running two circuits. One to a range upstairs and one to a range downstairs. The range upstairs is probably 1970s vintage. The range downstairs is late 90's - 00's vintage. I can't afford to replace the ranges right now, but since the basement is open and will soon be finished I wanted to replace the old wire and run a new line for the basement operation. Eventually, the ranges will be upgraded in which case they will more than likely require a 40 amp 8-3 setup. Would I run into any problems if the old ovens happened to be 50 amps and I have the 40 amp 8-3 setup?
RockingM82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:28 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Every free standing range I've installed has been on a 40A breaker.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:40 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 20
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


This house was built in the 50's. Right now, there is a massive wire ran for the range. I think it's large than 6AWG. It is not grounded to say the least and it runs into a 50 Amp breaker. I wish I was home, I would take a picture. The wire has some kind of adapter that allows it to be plugged into the 50 amp breaker.
RockingM82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:46 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Post a picture of that.

You may be surprised that the wire currently being used is smaller than what you think. The insulation used back then used to be much thicker.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 09:58 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Many homes from the 1950's - 1960's used #6 SEU copper cable for range circuits.

Overkill in most cases.

To the OP: Post the nameplate info from your ranges so a proper demand/load calculation can be made.

If you're shopping at a home-horror store, you'll find higher prices on larger wire sizes than the wholesale houses. One of my local suppliers charges about $1.75 a foot for 6/3 romex. $1.20 per foot for #8/3
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:08 PM   #10
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


If you are running a new circuit for a range, it will require a 4 wire cable (hot, hot, neutral, ground). Current code requires a separate ground (no longer legal to bond the frame to the neutral).
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:11 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jupe Blue View Post
If you are running a new circuit for a range, it will require a 4 wire cable (hot, hot, neutral, ground). Current code requires a separate ground (no longer legal to bond the frame to the neutral).
6/3 is three insulated conductors plus ground
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:28 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Call around to some local supply houses and see what they have for a price per foot or roll. May be just as cheap to buy a roll because by the foot prices are sometimes more.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:36 AM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Don't forget that you must change the receptacles for the ranges to 4 wire and remove the bonding strap on the appliances when you replace the circuit.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 09:43 AM   #14
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


What is wrong with the existing wiring? Why can't you re-use it?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 02:43 PM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

6-3 Costs a fortune. Where to get a good deal?


Adding 6-3 and some 14-50R receptacles is the best way when the walls are open. It gives you the option of just about any full size range. If you decide to buy a range that needs it you will have everything ready to go. When doing new construction with a builder that's what we ran to be sure that the homeowner could use just about any range.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where can I find good contractor and building material suppliers? denniis Off Topic 5 03-10-2009 09:27 AM
What do YOU think of this HARDI siding deal?? justdon Remodeling 3 09-16-2007 11:54 AM
Bought tools today, good or bad deal? Mr. Michael Tools 3 02-13-2007 12:39 PM
Would this be a good deal for a roofer or is it a dumb thought Doug Crf Roofing/Siding 5 05-09-2006 10:44 PM
Building Labor Costs SunNdeLight Building & Construction 2 09-17-2005 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.