Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-19-2010, 09:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

50a 4 prong RV connection with 3 wires?


When we built our home (3 years ago) we had the electrician install an outdoor RV receptacle. He ran 3 wires to a four prong receptacle - two hots #8 and an uninsulated #10 ground. He then jumped the ground to neutral on the back of the receptacle with a piece of the same #10 uninsulated. All wire is copper. Is this up to code?
droptop92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 09:26 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6
Default

50a 4 prong RV connection with 3 wires?


In a word..... NO

It should have an insulated neutral run with the circuit, not a "bootleg" job.

If you had the same "electrician" wire your house then you'd better look other places, too.

You might want to buy some additional fire insurance.
alfred e neuman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to alfred e neuman For This Useful Post:
droptop92 (10-19-2010)
Old 10-19-2010, 09:58 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

50a 4 prong RV connection with 3 wires?


I think you answered my follow-up question. Wondered if I could continue using the uninsulated #10 as the neutral and just run a separate ground wire to a new ground rod at the base of the receptacle.

Unfortunately, I have a 40' run through walls and ceiling (behind sheetrock) to 'fix' this mess. Doubly p*ssed off that my 'electrical' inspector didn't pick up on this. Only wish I knew what other hazardous things to look for. Thanks!
droptop92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 10:20 AM   #4
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 749
Default

50a 4 prong RV connection with 3 wires?


Yep, to be legal you need an insulated #8 neutral.

And for the record, because this is a common point of confusion, a ground rod does nothing as far as providing a safety ground for a circuit. The ground needs to carry any fault current all the way back to the panel, to allow enough current to flow to trip the breaker.

Ground rods are primarily to give lightning a reasonably safe path to the earth in the event of a strike.
McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 10:30 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

50a 4 prong RV connection with 3 wires?


Hey, thanks for clarifying the ground wire/rod confusion. Looks like I'll be calling the electrician to see how he'll remedy and then the inspector if we can't come to a reasonable fix. Thanks for the guidance!
droptop92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 prong 220v recep. to a 3 prong mopowers Electrical 12 05-03-2012 06:39 PM
Unintended kitchen remodel Itsdanf Project Showcase 191 06-14-2010 11:23 AM
Confusing Chandelier Wires Burnsy Electrical 21 02-22-2009 03:29 PM
Unfused connectors MELTED House wires WHAT TO DO??? jamiedolan Electrical 63 02-12-2009 06:01 PM
Running new doorbell wires after ripped old ones out? pcampbell Electrical 3 12-14-2008 11:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.