Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2011, 09:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

50a to 30L adapter?


We just bought a house and in the outlet for the dryer is a 50 Amp range outlet. The dryer we have is a 30L. Is there an adapter that would make this conversion for us without having to replace the outlet etc? If not what would it entail to get the dryer plugged in and working?

Thanks in advance.

jenjencali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:06 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

50a to 30L adapter?


What size breaker is protecting the dryer circuit, a 30 amp or 50 amp? Does your dryer cord have 3 prongs or 4 prongs?

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

50a to 30L adapter?


The breaker is a 50 amp and the dryer cord has 3 prongs.
jenjencali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:21 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

50a to 30L adapter?


Where are you located? Some jurisdictions require a 50 Amp circuit and receptacle for dryers ....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:28 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

50a to 30L adapter?


We are in contra costa county in California. We just purchased the dryer yesterday locally. The one thing to keep in mind is the guy that renovated this house didn't care at all about it being functional. He wanted it to look great so it would sell. We are just now finding out the "quirks" like the outlet issue.
jenjencali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:32 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

50a to 30L adapter?


IF the local codes out there don't require a 50 Amp circuit, I would replace both the circuit breaker and the outlet with 30 Amp units.

Are you up for that task, or would you feel better having an electrician do it?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

50a to 30L adapter?


That would be a job for an electrician not me. I'm handy but that is way above my comfort level.
jenjencali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 10:43 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

50a to 30L adapter?


I would not recommend an "adapter" ... call an electrician on this one.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modifying laptop ac adapter - Confused. miller108 Electrical 7 01-14-2013 09:49 AM
Vacuum Adapter for Dewalt D26441 llckll Tools 5 02-12-2010 09:21 PM
Trap Adapter Leak? kcrossley2 Plumbing 6 01-27-2010 01:55 AM
Pitless Adapter Submersible Pump Wild Blue Plumbing 5 08-31-2009 02:02 PM
Removing 2" marble toilet flange adapter for handicapped proofer Plumbing 20 04-21-2008 05:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.