500mcm Thhn - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2012, 03:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

500mcm thhn


What size wire is each strand in 500mcm thhn?

Advertisement

DBOND12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,639
Rewards Points: 1,072
Default

500mcm thhn


Typically, it's 37 strands of approximately #9AWG.

Advertisement

micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 06:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

500mcm thhn


Quote:
Originally Posted by DBOND12345
What size wire is each strand in 500mcm thhn?
Who cares? :-)
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Julius793 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (11-08-2012)
Old 11-08-2012, 06:50 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

500mcm thhn


Quote:
Originally Posted by micromind View Post
Typically, it's 37 strands of approximately #9AWG.
How the hell did you know that?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 07:05 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

500mcm thhn


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
How the hell did you know that?
Something similar to that was on my JMan's test.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:23 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,036
Rewards Points: 2,870
Default

500mcm thhn


I don't know why you would need to know that for a Jman test, or any other for that matter.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Julius793 (11-08-2012), Speedy Petey (11-08-2012)
Old 11-08-2012, 03:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

500mcm thhn


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz

Something similar to that was on my JMan's test.
Well then how about a 900mcm how many strands? :p
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:51 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,977
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

500mcm thhn


Southwire's 750 and 1000 has 61 strands.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:03 PM   #9
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,639
Rewards Points: 1,072
Default

500mcm thhn


I based my answer on the NEC. Chapter 9, table 8; Conductor Properties.

It states that 500MCM has 37 strands and each strand is .116" in diameter. It also states that #10 solid is .102", and #8 is .128. So #9 is somewhere in the middle.

The reason questions like this are on tests is not so you know how many strands are in 500MCM, that is just about as useless as it can get. But if you know how to look up obscure facts, then you know how to use the codebook to answer more common questions.

I believe though that the code could be greatly simplified. If it were reduced to about 1/3 of its present volume, I think it's be a lot easier to look stuff up. If you can't find it, you can't follow it.

For example, if you're connecting a motor, you need to look in at least 5 different articles; 110, 240, 250, 310, and 430. There's no reason for this. The provisions of 110 and 240 could easily be in 430.

Sorry for the rant, I've seen way too many problems with the complexity of the code.

Rob

P.S. 900MCM has 61 strands, each one is slightly smaller than #8.

Advertisement

micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
60 AMP circut- Romex or THHN? crankcase Electrical 10 07-20-2011 11:35 PM
3-way switch loop with thhn WillK Electrical 4 05-26-2011 04:51 PM
NM vs THHN Ampacity sirsparksalot Electrical 14 05-07-2011 06:22 PM
Wiring a Spa and THHN question. skleinsmith Electrical 29 04-02-2010 12:41 PM
Number of Strands in THHN jamiedolan Electrical 9 01-03-2009 03:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts