Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2012, 04:29 PM   #1
Apprentice Of all trades
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South West, MI
Posts: 34
Share |
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Ok so heres what i got. I have a 100 amp box in my house and im thinking i can run a 50 amp double breaker from my 100 amp box in the house to my 100 amp box in my garage that only has 6 spaces. i have 125 ft of 6/3 wireing to run from the house to the garage. What im wondering is if this is my best choice. i plan on useing saws a fridge lights garage door air compressor and for heat in the winter a salamander kerosene/electric heater. i would like to leave room for some extra things if needed. If someone could help me with this. the other thing is i need to know what breakers i should run in my six spaces for the different things i only have 2 lights and a few regular electrical plugs but i would like to have some plugs that would handle larger pulls like for my chop saw and the heater. any suggestions are welcome thanks for the help.

IcyShadowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 04:37 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Is it an attached or unattached garage?

Is the 6/3 romex or UF?

Do you already have this wire?

k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:30 PM   #3
Apprentice Of all trades
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South West, MI
Posts: 34
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Is it an attached or unattached garage?
The Garage is unattached from the house it in the back yard about 110ft (really only 90ft but i added an extra 20ft to make sure i have plenty of wire from what i could tell) of wire is needed to be ran from the house breaker in the basement to the garage basement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Is the 6/3 romex or UF?
I'm Not really sure which one it is which would you recomend?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Do you already have this wire?
No that part is still at the store i didnt want to buy it if it wasnt the right thing i needed. The one i saw was at menards 125' of it. Im almost positive that it is Romex. Its black and round unlike uf which is white and kinda flat at menards. I plan on runing either metal pipe or something like that in the ground where it is needed.

Also i only plan on useing 50 amps in the 100amp box is this ok to do the guy at the hardware store seemed knowlageable about wireing and he told me i should be fine.

Last edited by IcyShadowz; 03-23-2012 at 05:33 PM.
IcyShadowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:36 PM   #4
Apprentice Of all trades
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South West, MI
Posts: 34
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Another thing im unsure of is how can i tell if im running 240v or 120v from the house? Im trying to run 240!
IcyShadowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:52 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,748
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Forget the uf and bury conduit.
Install 3 #6 and one #10 thwn wire.
Install a ground rod at the garage.
Insatll a 60 amp 2 pole breaker in the main panel.
Seperate the neutral and grounds in the sub panel.
Bury the conduit 18" deep.

Do a search on this fourm to find any other answers.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:01 PM   #6
Apprentice Of all trades
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South West, MI
Posts: 34
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Forget the uf and bury conduit.
Install 3 #6 and one #10 thwn wire.
Install a ground rod at the garage.
Insatll a 60 amp 2 pole breaker in the main panel.
Seperate the neutral and grounds in the sub panel.
Bury the conduit 18" deep.
.
Do a search on this fourm to find any other answers.
OK although that may seem simple to you i have no clue what you are telling me here youll have to think of me as a moron right now because i am just learning. This is what i gather from what you are saying.

Your telling me to buy 3 seperate wires that are #6 and one #10 which im confused on.
Also for the #6 are you talking THHN wire?
your telling me to just run the ground straight to the ground with a rod

The 60 amp are you talking a 60 Amp Double Pole Circuit Breaker instead of a 50 amp will my 100 am breaker handle all this?

what do u mean seperate the netural and grounds in the sub pannel i though there was only one ground ran to the pole. I know there will be more with the wireing in the garage but it looks like your just focasing on the wire ran from one pannel to the other.

Also why would you chose to run this way compared to just running 6/3

Last edited by IcyShadowz; 03-23-2012 at 06:05 PM.
IcyShadowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:22 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


I disagree on the conduit (PVC) in this instance. Being there is a limit on the number of bends allowed without a pull point and the total length of the run, I would suggest 6-3 UF buried 24".

If its a straight shot, he runs 1" PVC with 2 or 3 90's in it, and owns a fish tape I could see using PVC...but I have a feeling he won't know what we are talking about.
k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:27 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


IMO this poster is not qualified to do this work. I know this is a DIY site, but you have to assume some level of ability and this poster does not have the tickets.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
hammerlane (03-24-2012)
Old 03-23-2012, 06:33 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
IMO this poster is not qualified to do this work. I know this is a DIY site, but you have to assume some level of ability and this poster does not have the tickets.
Agreed, it would be like me asking how to land a plane.
k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:35 PM   #10
Apprentice Of all trades
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South West, MI
Posts: 34
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
IMO this poster is not qualified to do this work. I know this is a DIY site, but you have to assume some level of ability and this poster does not have the tickets.
Well i appriciate you opion but like you said this is a diy site and you got to learn from some where just because i dont understand all the techinal terms doesnt mean i dont know what im doing. And once again i am learning so really this post was pointless if your not going to help theres really no reason to put in your 2 cents. Im not trying to be rude but think of when you started learning things how would you like it if someone came into your part and said what u just did.

For k_buz i have 1 90 and to outside and 1 90 up to the box for the most part is is all straight not really even sure i need the second 90 if i run straight into the garage.
IcyShadowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:38 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Will probably cost you close to $300 for that run just for wire if you use UF wire.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:39 PM   #12
Apprentice Of all trades
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South West, MI
Posts: 34
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


and k_buz i do know what you are talking about i just learing the types of wireing and what would be best for what im doing i just dont understand all the terms used
IcyShadowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:41 PM   #13
Apprentice Of all trades
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South West, MI
Posts: 34
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Will probably cost you close to $300 for that run just for wire if you use UF wire.
Ya ive already priced it. I know its a long run for wire but i need to be able to use my shop. Sorry im more of a painter and a roofer. Thanks
IcyShadowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:42 PM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Sounds pretty straight. If your panel is in the basement, I wouldn't come out below grade, you are just asking for a leak.
k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:44 PM   #15
Apprentice Of all trades
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South West, MI
Posts: 34
Default

50 Amps for a garage help


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Agreed, it would be like me asking how to land a plane.
Believe it or not landing a plane is really simple just takes a bit of practice.

IcyShadowz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weatherproofing garage help Perfik Building & Construction 2 10-17-2012 03:30 PM
Garage floor Tomperro Building & Construction 3 07-17-2011 11:37 PM
Pouring Concrete Slab in a small rickety garage. RORO Building & Construction 0 10-19-2010 03:56 PM
Generator as sole power source NGuy Electrical 29 12-20-2008 12:29 AM
Max amps allowed - electrician advice needed Des Electrical 27 06-05-2008 10:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.