DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

50 amp sub panels from 100 amp main

11K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  smithdavidp 
#1 ·
I worked as a electrical apprentice so I am no stranger to residential wiring. First off I just bought my house which has a G.E. main panel with a 100 amp main breaker. I am more of a square D fan and I am also wanting to run two 50 amp sub panels so I am wondering if I could use a 150amp Square D in place of the 100 amp GE. I have very little in the way of amp hungry appliances or tools. My refridgerator is the only electrical appliance along with a Microwave. The Mechanicals are the furnace and the central air. The central air is running off of a seperate sub panel and meter but come off of a cross connection to the main meter.

I want a 50 amp panel in the garage that will contain all of the garage circuits. These will power garage door opener, table saw, miter saw, drill press, air compressor (a 220 hookup but draws only 15 amps) and two 8 foot long florescent fixtures. I want to be able to shut off the power to the electrical tools when not in use for obvious safety reasons.

The second 50 amp panel will be located in the basement where I have a small recording studio. The circuits will carry only amplifiers, mixers, and lighting and will need to be run through a conditioned main circuit.

Can I do this without running into problems on the electric companies side of the equation? Will code allow me to have two 50 amp breakers inside the 150 amp main panel? Can I replace the 100amp with the 150 amp main breaker? I don't see where I would ever exceed the rated amperage that is in the house now. My concern is that second meter and the 30 amp breaker that come off of the main meter.

The electric company supplies this house with a cable attached between two poles (in the middle so to speak) and there is no connection to a 220 transformer.

See less See more
#3 ·