Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2011, 06:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


I need to install a 50 amp RV receptacle on the far wall of my shop building. The run will be all inside from a 200 amp panelboard going up 8' in conduit, then a 82' run without conduit on top of a purlin, then 10' down in conduit to the receptacle. I believe that to keep the voltage drop reasonable I can use 6 awg. Keep in mind that a 50 amp RV service uses the two legs as separate 120's and does not use 240. What cable can I use for this? Or do I need to use separate conductors in EMT for the whole run? Thanks

Roaddoggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 07:11 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roaddoggie View Post
Keep in mind that a 50 amp RV service uses the two legs as separate 120's and does not use 240.
Even if there are no 240v loads (which I doubt) it is still a 120/240v circuit.

I would use #6THHN conductors in conduit myself. Two hots, neutral and ground. You can drop to a #10 for the ground.

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 07:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 19
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


Actually, you're right, there are supposely some top end buses that use 240, but most RV's don't. I know my diesel pusher doesn't. And what would be cheaper, SER or separate conductors in EMT?
Roaddoggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roaddoggie
Actually, you're right, there are supposely some top end buses that use 240, but most RV's don't. I know my diesel pusher doesn't. And what would be cheaper, SER or separate conductors in EMT?
Cheaper?

Probably #6 NMD on surface sleeved in conduit as you mention since you can get it cut easily from a wholesaler. The cleanest and "best" would be to have THHN all in conduit... but it's up to you.

Nobody runs 60A hot tub loads with THHN in conduit in practice, but in a large shop where you are moving things and using tools I would like to protect it everywhere, if you're covering it in wall with drywall, it could be NMD with probe plates and as long as the run is high, it would meet code in my area.
cschwehr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


Quote:
Originally Posted by cschwehr
Probably #6 NMD on surface sleeved in conduit
I mean sleeved in PVC till you get above 8'... Not the whole run.
cschwehr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 40
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


#6 thwn
Tigerloose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 08:19 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tigerloose
#6 thwn
Why? It's all indoor, he doesn't require a wet location rated cable...
cschwehr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 09:10 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


Quote:
Originally Posted by cschwehr View Post
Why? It's all indoor, he doesn't require a wet location rated cable...
THWN is a conductor, not a cable. And when was the lat time you got THHN that was not dual rated with THWN?
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2011, 10:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 44
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
THWN is a conductor, not a cable. And when was the lat time you got THHN that was not dual rated with THWN?
One minute you're making sure sure I'm correct on my terminology and the next you're telling me that it's always dual rated - you're correct on both topics though... Thanks for ensuring my initial posts are slowly typed in the future or not typed at all.
cschwehr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 04:28 AM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

50 Amp RV Receptacle, 100' run


Quote:
Originally Posted by cschwehr View Post
Thanks for ensuring my initial posts are slowly typed in the future or not typed at all.
Hey, no problem.

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Receptacle Question MrBill_DIY Electrical 3 11-21-2010 10:07 PM
Welder Receptacle - What Electrical Box SNAFU Electrical 4 10-26-2010 09:45 PM
Wiring A Ceiling Fan, Receptacle, and Outside Light merlin6984 Electrical 9 03-26-2009 09:52 PM
Receptacle Rating question KE2KB Electrical 19 12-20-2008 06:20 PM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 09:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.