Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2011, 11:16 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

50 amp RV outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Yes. Sink a ground rod (not that it will do any good).
OP does not specifically say this is detached from shop building, if not no need for a ground rod, if detached then yes a ground rod is needed.

vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 11:27 AM   #17
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,161
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

50 amp RV outlet


He says it is 100 feet from the panel.

"I'm installing a 50 amp-4 wire 120/240 volt RV outlet about 100' from the panel in my shop. I have two main questions."

So I assumed that it is remote from the building but I guess it could be a very large building.

Interesting issue though:
If the RV box is mounted on the outside of the building , no ground rod required. If you put it on a post a foot away from the building, a ground rod would be required
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (05-22-2011)
Old 05-22-2011, 01:16 PM   #18
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,876
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

50 amp RV outlet


I'm with rjniles. I think it is a safe assumption since it is 100' away.

If not then that is one big a** shop.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 01:30 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

50 amp RV outlet


Agreed, I think it's also detached - due to the distance comment and desire for conduit. But it could be a large workshop, metal out-building, farm building, etc. So thought I would point it out for completeness.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 02:13 PM   #20
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

50 amp RV outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by powerfactor View Post
Cowboy
How do you feel about this?

551.73

(D) Feeder-Circuit Capacity.
Recreational vehicle site
feeder-circuit conductors shall have an ampacity not less
than the loads supplied and shall be rated not less than
30 amperes. The neutral conductors shall have an ampacity
not less than the ungrounded conductors.
Thank You

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rv outlet


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 08:41 AM
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 06:13 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 04:36 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 09:38 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.