50 Amp Receptacle In Shop - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2011, 12:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

50 amp receptacle in shop


I want to install a 50 amp receptacle in my shop. It is in a pole building where the walls and ceiling have been framed in. The receptacle will be flush mount in a box. My question is what is the best way to go about installing it to meet code. For instance what size/type gang box should I use and type of connection to it using the 6/3 type wire. The receptacle is for my welder. Being that it is 220v it does not have to be GFI protected ?
Any help would be appreciated.

Advertisement

stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 12:50 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

50 amp receptacle in shop


You only need 6/2 w/ground for a welder.

You can use a standard 2-gang nail-up box for such an installation.




Use a flush mount device:



And a 2-gang plate:


Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!

Last edited by kbsparky; 11-12-2011 at 12:54 PM.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 02:50 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

50 amp receptacle in shop


Thanks KB,
I assume you knock out both center pieces for the wire to enter the box due to the wire size. There would be no GFI protection in this case either correct? Thanks for including the pics.
stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 10:13 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

50 amp receptacle in shop


Spend the extra couple of bucks and put this recpt. in a metal box with a properly sized connector. You wont be disappointed.
roblectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 08:49 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

50 amp receptacle in shop


Quote:
Originally Posted by stevo1213 View Post
Thanks KB,
I assume you knock out both center pieces for the wire to enter the box due to the wire size. There would be no GFI protection in this case either correct? Thanks for including the pics.
Not necessary to knock out more than one of those entrance holes. I've been able to fit a piece of 6/2 into them without ruining the box. I use the hole closest to the stud, and put a staple in the cable within 8" of the box.

You are not required to have GFCI protection for welder outlets.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
stevo1213 (11-14-2011)
Old 11-14-2011, 01:59 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

50 amp receptacle in shop


Thanks KB,
Is there a minimum height that is required for outlets either 110v or 220v which are in a garage/shop?
I have been placing them at 48 inches but may place some lower since some will be under some light switches.
stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 12:27 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: MI's Western UP
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 500
Default

50 amp receptacle in shop


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
You only need 6/2 w/ground for a welder.
Only if you are talking a long run or maybe for an industrial welder. My Miller 252 is perfectly fine with 8 gauge and I am pretty sure that is what is in the factory cord. Remember welders have a pretty low duty cycle near peak output. You won't be running near 50 amps (and most welders use quite a bit less) for long periods of time with most welders made.

If you want to use the circuit for a stove or kiln, then I would agree 6 gauge wire would be in order.
forresth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 03:56 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 236
Rewards Points: 180
Default

50 amp receptacle in shop


Quote:
Originally Posted by roblectric View Post
Spend the extra couple of bucks and put this recpt. in a metal box with a properly sized connector. You wont be disappointed.
i agree with that, a plastic box will break after few connect-disconnect of the welder. Get a metal box solidly anchored
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:55 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

50 amp receptacle in shop


So if I used a metal box, then I would need to splice the 6/2 wire with a grey wire nut and ground the box as well? I have found that when you get to that kind of size wire, splicing in a box like that can be difficult.

Advertisement

stevo1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing receptacle with GFCI wiring problem braden Electrical 8 04-06-2011 09:32 AM
low voltage reading at receptacle 2 ball cane Electrical 5 04-06-2011 01:07 AM
Wiring a receptacle for a lift station hydrogeo99 Electrical 4 08-18-2010 02:04 AM
Receptacle Rating question KE2KB Electrical 5 12-18-2008 06:36 PM
Split Receptacle on 3-Way Circuit NPS Electrical 6 11-03-2005 10:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts