Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-02-2011, 11:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

50 amp GFI reverse fed breaker


How do i wire a reverse fed 50 amp gfi breaker( Schneider stab loc 5mA non auto/back/reverse fed breaker), initially it was wired w the reverse fed breaker in the box, which then fed a panel box with two back to back 50 amp breakers which then led to hot tub. IS THIS SAFE as a GFCI/GFI???

jhkitchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 11:56 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,699
Default

50 amp GFI reverse fed breaker


You can not back feed a gfci breaker.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 12:10 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

50 amp GFI reverse fed breaker


Thank you; does that mean I CANNOT use this breaker as a hot tub GFI; or did the addition of back to back breakers enable it as a GFI even though it was not back fed.
jhkitchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 12:12 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,699
Default

50 amp GFI reverse fed breaker


I'm not sure what you mean by back to back, but a gfci will only offer protection if it is installed per instructions.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 01:09 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

50 amp GFI reverse fed breaker


again; thanks for any help. The hot tub was wired w this 50 amp breaker w a red 5mA test, ( it says on it " NON AUTO, this device must be reverse fed" but i dont think it is a "real" gfi; it has red/black and two whites; load and line; but it had two 50 amp breakers ( normal breakers) further down line, which i refer to as back to back and then went to hot tub. Can it be a gfi configured like this, it seems to work fine. but is it a real gfi? how do i find out; without throwing a HOT toaster into tub.THX
jhkitchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 02:13 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,699
Default

50 amp GFI reverse fed breaker


A pic would answer many questions.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
50 amp gfi??


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI Breaker Keeps Tripping Muinchja Electrical 30 08-25-2011 04:54 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
I can "double" the wires to each breaker in my breaker panel right? Piedmont Electrical 40 10-01-2008 11:18 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.