Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2009, 01:53 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Share |
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


You could run just hot and neutral jumper wires to the line side of the unmounted GFCI, with nothing on the load side. If it trips it almost certainly is bad.

Then add the ground wire and see what happens.

If it works so far add wiring to the load side.

If it still works add the load.

Divide and conquer.


Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-16-2009 at 01:58 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 01:53 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


Take a picture of the main panel and the sub panel. Sounds like you have a bad breaker but let's look over everything.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 01:57 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


jerryh3, that is the conclusion I came to but thought I'd better check and see if I did something stupid here. I plan on exchanging the GFCI on my way home today. If that doesn't work, I'll certainly take pictured and palsture them up to get experts input.
casnart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 01:59 PM   #19
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

50 Amp GFCI tripping


Thats why i wondered if it was a new gfci and pics help alot good luck you do need a ground bar in the sub panel
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 02:03 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


Thank you all for your help! I will post tomorrow what happens tonight.
casnart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 04:31 PM   #21
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


From your description of the problem you do not have the feeder to the gfci energized at the main panel. The gfci will not hold without power getting to it. You need the ground hooked up only to get the test button to work and for safety. But you gotta have power at the gfci first.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 06:36 PM   #22
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,695
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


If this is a spa box from the box store, make sure the gfci is installed in the middle.
I installed one and put the 2 pole gfci on the smae leg, turned on ower and lost the gfci.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 08:28 PM   #23
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,534
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


If you have power at the spa panel and the breaker trips immediately with no load, then you have a bad breaker.

Quote:
You need the ground hooked up only to get the test button to work and for safety
The ground in the panel has nothing to do with the test button, it should test whether the ground is connected or not.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 10:50 PM   #24
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


Yep.. no ground...test will still work...sorry

Thanks for catching that Househelper.... a rather silly over site on my part.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 07-16-2009 at 10:57 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:32 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


It was a bad GFCI! Got a new one, snapped it in and all is good.

As a side note, Menard's wouldn't take the bad one back because the decals were scratched and it looked "used". So I guess Lowe's and Home Depot get all my business now.............
casnart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:40 AM   #26
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

50 Amp GFCI tripping


Glad you have it fixed.Good Job!!
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 04:12 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
Default

50 Amp GFCI tripping


Hi All, I have the same problem in this thread. I have replaced the breaker and it too worked again... for while. been about a year, maybe less, and the 'new' breaker is now tripping again with nothing on the load side. If I remove the breaker from the panel, it will latch 'on' but as soon as its put back into the panel (and the coiled white neutral attached to neutral bar) it trips. Could this be just 'crap luck' or something else going on to 'burn out' these GFCI breakers? In the 50A outside box (single non-GFCI from house panel to outside box) I have a 20A and a 30A GFCI. The 20A feeds the electronics and the jets, the 30A feeds the heater. at $75 a pop, I dont want to be replacing these things once a year...

Thanks in advanced!

jbreault is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 41 06-05-2014 12:41 PM
LCD TV tripping GFCI breakers throughout house penleydr Electrical 28 06-19-2011 06:39 AM
Random GFCI tripping, Data Rack theatretch85 Electrical 5 07-10-2009 08:20 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.