5 Gang Box Wire Size And Cu? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2012, 10:13 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 33
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


I have 5 switches that i need to install. Looking at getting a 5 gang box. This will be installed in a 2x4 wall. What code is there about how many wires can be in the box? I plan on using 12/2 wire. There will be 2 circuits. 2 switches on one circuit and 3 switches on another circuit. Can i do this or do i need split out the boxes?

Advertisement

jgrohol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:15 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


You should be fine. To be sure we would need to know the dimensions of the box. You can have multiple circuits in the same box.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 33
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


I thought so. Its all about the cubic in of the box? Any sizing i should be aware of?
jgrohol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:21 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,107
Rewards Points: 2,610
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


I came up with 56.25 cu with your cable and devices, so anything larger will be fine.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 10-12-2012 at 10:41 PM. Reason: Math error and another math error, or maybe a drinking error
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:26 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


Correct.

Add up all the current carrying conductors and multiply that number by 2.5, then add 2.5 to that answer to account for the grounds. Next you have to account for the devices themselves. Each device counts as two CCC's, so that's 25 cubic inches. Add that to the running tab.

So, if you have 2 12/2s feeding the 5 gang and 5 12/2s for the switch legs you get a total of 62.5 cubic inches.

I am estimating here, the dimentions of a 5 gang is 3x8x3=72 cubic inches.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 33
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


As always you guys rock. Thanks for the info.
jgrohol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 33
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


And the pigtails between switches don't count toward the needed CU right?
jgrohol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:36 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


Nope, only conductors that enter or exit the box.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:36 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Richfield, MN
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 75
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Correct.

Add up all the current carrying conductors and multiply that number by 2.5, then add 2.5 to that answer to account for the grounds. Next you have to account for the devices themselves. Each device counts as two CCC's, so that's 25 cubic inches. Add that to the running tab.

So, if you have 2 12/2s feeding the 5 gang and 5 12/2s for the switch legs you get a total of 62.5 cubic inches.

I am estimating here, the dimentions of a 5 gang is 3x8x3=72 cubic inches.
I came up with 56.25. 12awg is 2.25 in^3. Either way there is still room.
Sliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 10:38 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

5 gang box wire size and cu?


My bad, you are correct, I didn't look at my code book and for some reason was thinking 2.5 for a #12...my bad.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size ground wire should I use for 8 gauge power dxmullin Electrical 1 07-06-2011 02:57 PM
Wire size to 100 AMP subpanel Coqui Electrical 22 06-19-2011 06:28 PM
wire size for 160' feeder to subpanel steveski Electrical 3 05-21-2011 09:41 AM
Wire size for dryer jamiedolan Electrical 14 01-15-2009 05:43 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts