Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2012, 02:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

400 Watt High Pressure Sodium light


What I would like to know is if my 30 amp 120V electrical outlet box, using only the plug from an 400 Watt High pressure light bulb and going through a digital ballast be enough amps for it.

jstorkson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 05:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 0
Default

400 Watt High Pressure Sodium light


Quote:
Originally Posted by jstorkson
What I would like to know is if my 30 amp 120V electrical outlet box, using only the plug from an 400 Watt High pressure light bulb and going through a digital ballast be enough amps for it.
What's the setup? A 400w hps can be on a 1(a circuit.

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:09 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Rewards Points: 0
Default

400 Watt High Pressure Sodium light


A 400 watt HPS will need somewhere around 4 amps at 120.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:22 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,357
Rewards Points: 34
Default

400 Watt High Pressure Sodium light


30 amp. 110 volt outlet
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 06:50 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

400 Watt High Pressure Sodium light


General lighting/receptacles cannot be on a 30A circuit.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 07:09 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

400 Watt High Pressure Sodium light


I would like to thank all that replyed
jstorkson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 01:22 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

400 Watt High Pressure Sodium light


Also let me add this info along the way with 400 watt HPS ballast you will have to double check the ballast connection on the primary ( incomming ) side to use the correct tap due some of the ballast are mulit voltage unit which it mean it can run few differnt voltage so therefore it can run 120,208 ,240,277 volts ( some case 480 volts )

Also if any taps are not used please make sure they are wirenutted or shrinktube on it to prevent any short.

And double check the ballast info for the correct lamp as well ( make sure they are matched up )

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High pressure operating Sdeclara HVAC 13 01-17-2012 02:44 PM
Grout question poolecw Flooring 11 10-29-2008 07:32 PM
High pressure bjr23 Plumbing 1 03-27-2007 07:24 PM
High pressure in water line atlfiveo Plumbing 5 02-06-2007 09:04 PM
How high for front light? Not Sure Electrical 2 08-06-2006 11:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.