Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2012, 10:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

400 amp service pole barn and home later


I'm new to this site and welcome any help and comments from members. I am building my own pole barn and later a 2400 sq ft home. I'm thinking 200 amp service will be enough for each building. The barn is 40x60 with a 900 sq ft apartment on the second level and a garage area for my small collection of vintage cars.The barn and apartment will be heated with LP fired radiant heat via pex pipe and the apartment will be air conditioned with roughly a 1 1/2 ton unit. I know from experience that 200 amp service will be plenty for the barn. My home, built at a later date will be approx. 2400 sq ft w/3 bedrooms and most likely geothermal heating and cooling via a heat pump trench system. I don't think I will need any kind of supplemental heat for the home as I will design the geothermal trench system to be more than capable for my expected use and weather in my region. My current home has 200 amp service, 4 bedrooms is 2800 sq ft and has a gas furnace with a 3 ton AC condenser so this is what i'm basing my 200 amp service on for my new home. My question is this:My barn is about 200 from the road and the house will be another 250 from the barn. Both the barn and home will be pretty much in a straight line from the road. I would like to have all of my service underground but I understand this can drive up my cost. Due to this I would consider the service from the road to my barn be via a pole or two. I do want the service from the barn to the house to be buried. Sooo, how can this project be done? A 400 amp cable from the road to the barn area? and then a 200 amp cable to the house later? One meter, two meters? A transformer on the pole at the road? Any suggestions would be appreciated.I might also mention I have a great deal of experience in the security and video industries and would be more than willing to answer any questions other members might have. Thanks,Walt


Last edited by walt1955; 06-28-2012 at 10:30 PM. Reason: Add info
walt1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 10:50 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,061
Rewards Points: 2
Default

400 amp service pole barn and home later


Get in touch with your electric company as they will need to be involved with your plans. The most logical setup would be to run high voltage primary and install the transformer at the pole barn. If you are going to continue the service to your future house from the barn panel, think ahead on wire size and panel choice so you don't have to rework anything. Another option is hooking directly to the transformer for the home but that would most likely require another meter at the house. Just as a reminder, you can provide 200 amp service to each building but that doesn't necessarily mean that you have to have a 400 amps service to the property. It depends on how much load you will be pulling from both buildings at the same time.

Here is a link to a thread that focuses on a service pedestal but it has other information that may help with your planning.

http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/help-me-design-my-service-pedestal-129288/


Last edited by zappa; 06-29-2012 at 12:43 AM.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 09:08 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 0
Default

400 amp service pole barn and home later


I agree with Zappa, talk with the power company first thing.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some questions on a new service zappa Electrical 3 11-27-2011 01:30 PM
Need home plans for a simple barn home! RUMBLON General DIY Discussions 0 06-02-2011 03:05 PM
Need a Barn home forum?? And or suggestions from here? also need plan ideas? software RUMBLON General DIY Discussions 11 01-17-2011 12:33 PM
Running power to small barn in VA from home service 350' ribertgropius Electrical 9 06-12-2010 02:18 AM
NEWBIE- Looking to build my own Barn Home in Idaho LAWFISH General DIY Discussions 2 11-14-2008 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.