4 Wire Occupancy Switch Wiring.. FLASHING Lights?? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2010, 10:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 wire occupancy switch wiring.. FLASHING lights??


I have purchased some enerlites brand decorator occupancy sensing light switches. The 4 wires they have are labeled hot(black) load(red) neutral(white) and ground (green). They are commercial grade and are rated to handle most anything including 1/4 hp motors. The light on hand is wired to the switch with a simple two wire config. i have determined which is the hot wire. However, Im unsure of what to do to be honest. What i did was hook hot to hot, put neutral and load together and connected to neutral. This is the only way the switch will function at all. The light is switched on but the light then flashes like a strobe! I left ground disconnected given that i have to ground to connect to. I tried this on a ballast fixture as well as simple incandescent with the same result. I wired this way in reference to the wiring diagram that comes with the switch. Could it be because of the disconnected ground. I assume I have the wiring wrong. Please help!

Advertisement

darin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 10:59 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 wire occupancy switch wiring.. FLASHING lights??


I forgot to mention that its not that the light simply flickering. i can actually hear the switch switching on off on off on off.. any info will be appreciated!

Advertisement

darin00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 11:54 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,377
Rewards Points: 3,548
Blog Entries: 4
Default

4 wire occupancy switch wiring.. FLASHING lights??


Why would you put neutral and load together.
The sensor will not work for your circuit since you don't actually have a neutral wire. The white wire is a power wire as part of a switch loop. You need to pull a new cable or find a different sensor that doesn't need a neutral.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (12-18-2010)
Old 12-18-2010, 08:38 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

4 wire occupancy switch wiring.. FLASHING lights??


JoeD is absolutely right. What you did was very bad; connecting the load and the neutral to what you thought was a neutral. It is not.
WHY would you ever consider connecting a neutral and hot together on anything. I am surprised that you did not blow up the unit.

This is a classic case of having a clue BEFORE you start being a very beneficial thing.

A switch that has only two wires, meaning just black and white, will NEVER have a neutral present.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring multiple lights between power source and switch j2m Electrical 3 10-03-2010 08:29 PM
wiring several recessed lights from 1 switch raineydr Electrical 14 03-15-2010 09:52 AM
Wiring 4 lights to 1 switch...Please help! Driven2race Electrical 14 01-17-2010 07:03 PM
How do I connect one switch to 3 lights? Dorkus Electrical 9 09-27-2009 11:08 PM
4 way switch wiring ponch37300 Electrical 9 02-16-2009 10:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts