Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 11:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

4 way switch troubles


I have followed manuels, on-line tutorials, etc, but am still having issues with my 4-way switch circuit. Switch 1 (3 way) will turn on and off all lights. Switch 2 (4 way) will only turn on and off light C, and switch 3 (3 way) will only turn on and off switch C. I am attatching a crude drawing of set up (on picture blue is white wires). We do have a complicated one with power-switch 1-light A-light B-switch 2-switch 3-light C. Please help!!
Attached Thumbnails
4 way switch troubles-wiring-issues-email-2.jpg  

tspiehs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 11:57 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

4 way switch troubles


Quote:
Originally Posted by tspiehs View Post
I have followed manuels, on-line tutorials, etc, but am still having issues with my 4-way switch circuit. Switch 1 (3 way) will turn on and off all lights. Switch 2 (4 way) will only turn on and off light C, and switch 3 (3 way) will only turn on and off switch C. I am attatching a crude drawing of set up (on picture blue is white wires). We do have a complicated one with power-switch 1-light A-light B-switch 2-switch 3-light C. Please help!!
I will keep it short and simple.,,

Is this all new wiring or it is a exsting wiring set up ?

If the new wiring you did hook it up wrong so my simple soluation is run the power source at first three way switch then two shuttle ( travellers ) will go to next fourway switch again the two shuttle will go next three way switch however let me remind you that the dark screw is knowen as common screw ( some case it will be printed but dark colour is useally a giveaway answer ) note that as I describing the connection at all switch points the white conductor is used as netural you will see a second.

Then on last three way switch use the convental 2 conductor NM cable to the luminaires black to black and white to white all the same with three luminarie that will take care of the issue you have there.

If you have tube and knob system stop right there and let us know I know there is other methold to cover on this one but for now just contracted on convental cables.

I will post the photo what is the proper way for 4 way set up.



This is one of my most common methold of connection and you will note the luminarie just hook up black to black and white to white on other luminaires.

Hope that help ya

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
tspiehs (05-28-2012)
Old 05-28-2012, 06:08 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Default

4 way switch troubles


The 4 way switch (in switch box #2) should have two dark terminals. One traveler cable is connected to both light terminals and the other traveler cable is connected to both dark terminals.

Suggestion: Run the 3 wire cables between the switch boxes skipping the light fixtures. Run (2 wire) cable between the light fixtures skipping the switch boxes. One 2 wire cable connects the last switch box to one of the light fixtures.

(If the only convenient route runs by both the switch boxes and the light fixstures then skipping a box means running the cable non-stop around just outside.)
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-28-2012 at 06:14 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
tspiehs (05-28-2012)
Old 05-28-2012, 07:53 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,565
Rewards Points: 58
Default

4 way switch troubles


You can not split the lights up like you have.

I have rewired your drawing, however the actual wiring of this configuration is going to be hard because of the number of wires needed between the switches etc.

4 way switch troubles-threeway-temp.jpg
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
tspiehs (05-28-2012)
Old 05-28-2012, 07:56 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

4 way switch troubles


This sounds alot like that homework problem someone posted a while back about lights in a mine.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:04 AM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,098
Rewards Points: 22
Default

4 way switch troubles


Quote:
Originally Posted by tspiehs View Post
I have followed manuels, on-line tutorials, etc, but am still having issues with my 4-way switch circuit. Switch 1 (3 way) will turn on and off all lights. Switch 2 (4 way) will only turn on and off light C, and switch 3 (3 way) will only turn on and off switch C. I am attatching a crude drawing of set up (on picture blue is white wires). We do have a complicated one with power-switch 1-light A-light B-switch 2-switch 3-light C. Please help!!
Sounds like you didn't run enough conductors in part of your circuit... If you ran a 4 conductor you would be in good shape. Hope this is still accessible in some fashion to rewire.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 05-28-2012 at 08:13 AM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:25 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

4 way switch troubles


Mine Lights problem
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:06 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

4 way switch troubles


will try the new drawing - as for the mine post that is exactly what I do not want. I want the 3 switches to control all the lights and they are not - guess the student should've come seen my issue So just got done rewiring - only took 20 minutes and got it fixed!! Thanks so much! Next time note to self - follow my gut and don't listen to hubby!


Last edited by tspiehs; 05-28-2012 at 09:52 AM.
tspiehs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Generator Transfer Switch Trouble wgramer Electrical 23 11-12-2011 07:23 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 01:24 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.