Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2012, 12:38 PM   #16
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,348
Share |
Default

4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights


I would eliminate the junction box and just run the fixture cable into one of the switches.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:44 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
I dont know if this helps but it has incoming power at your switch "B" which is a 3-way. Switch "A" is the 4-way and switch "C" is the other 3-way.

Al cables between switches are 12-3, all cables between lights are 12-2. In the strategically placed junction box I do not show it but the white traveler from switch "C" should be reidentified with black tape at both ends
Wow - thanks! I agree with everything except unfortuneately I cannot run wire over, through, around or under the beam. Bad planning on my part - I should've had the engineer figure in a couple of chase holes in the steel I-beam, especially at the ends (or even notches) where it has support. I will have to run down a wall into the basement and up the wall on the other side of the beam. That is only an extra 20' of wire each time I have to do that.

I think Joed commented he might break this into separate switch circuits. I originally had it designed that way but after we framed out the rooms we realized that the "small" space really functions as one room and there isn't a reason to have separetely lit areas. Then everytime we head upstairs at night we we will always have to walk to the "far" door to turn them off. You are right in that it is easier to wire but I think the initial effort is worth the end result.
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:45 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I would eliminate the junction box and just run the fixture cable into one of the switches.
Which switch would you recommend running the fixture cable out of?

Last edited by hammerlane; 03-28-2012 at 12:49 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:54 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I would eliminate the junction box and just run the fixture cable into one of the switches.
I agree (i think). I can simply run the line continuously into the basement and back up to include the other recessed lights. So basically I would run switched power into a light and fork from there. The only reason I can think of for a junction box is if the light box doesn't have enough room for three 12/2 wires (1 coming in and 2 going out in addition to the light wires).
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 12:54 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I would eliminate the junction box and just run the fixture cable into one of the switches.
Double posted

Last edited by hammerlane; 03-28-2012 at 12:58 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:06 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights


Lets see
Attached Thumbnails
4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights-4-way-11-can-lites-2-no-j-box.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:11 PM   #22
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,527
Default

4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights


Makes no sense to run the fixture wires out of anywhere but switch "C".

Is the room finished? If not, just drop the wires down through the top plate, across studs to the other side of the beam, then back up through the plate.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 01:42 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Flemington, NJ
Posts: 70
Default

4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Makes no sense to run the fixture wires out of anywhere but switch "C".

Is the room finished? If not, just drop the wires down through the top plate, across studs to the other side of the beam, then back up through the plate.
The room is not finished so I can easily do as you state. And I agree that
- power in at switch B with 14/2 as 3way (junction box or pigtail off to outside lights before switch),
- connect with 14/3 to switch A as 4way,
- connect with 14/3 to Switch C as 3way, and
- run 14/2 from switch C to all lights in series (if that is what it is called).

Seems to be the simplest and easiest way for a novice electrical DIYer.

Last edited by CapeCod153; 03-28-2012 at 02:28 PM.
CapeCod153 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 02:27 PM   #24
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,348
Default

4 way switch setup with multiple runs of lights


It doesn't matter which switch you run the lights from, but all the lights need to run from the same switch.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
Single Switch with Two 3-ways to Control 2 Separate Sets of Lights? LowlyDIYer Electrical 2 10-19-2011 09:11 AM
How to wire multiple lights in attic on same circuit? bottlerockett Electrical 25 06-04-2011 04:27 PM
Wiring a switch to rope lights DK75 Electrical 5 12-02-2010 07:49 AM
Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch? mfleming Electrical 17 11-20-2008 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.