Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2009, 08:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

4 way switch with one fixture in hallway


We changed out the 3 switches in our hallway with a 4way in the middle and 3ways on the ends and it was working. Now we are trying to replace the fixture (wiring the same way as the old one) and it's not working. I have a diagram for the 4way setup, but we don't have enough wires to set it up that way. Help!

rstompkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:07 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,639
Default

4 way switch with one fixture in hallway


You need to provide us with all the wires in all the switchs and the fixture for us to help.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2009, 09:13 PM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

4 way switch with one fixture in hallway


Quote:
Originally Posted by rstompkins View Post
We changed out the 3 switches in our hallway with a 4way in the middle and 3ways on the ends and it was working.
So far so good

Quote:
Originally Posted by rstompkins View Post
Now we are trying to replace the fixture (wiring the same way as the old one) and it's not working......Help!
Replacing the fixture is the easiest part. You went astray in part one, It was not working as it should. Here is a short tutorial:
http://www.wfu.edu/~matthews/courses/p230/switches/SwitchesTut.html
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 07:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,841
Default

4 way switch with one fixture in hallway


Maybe the new fixture itself was defective.

When you connect the black and white wires of the fixture the same way as the black and white wires of the old fixture, the new fixture should work for better or worse the same way.

Or maybe you took apart more wire nuts than necessary and didn't put it back together properly.

The ground wire (bare wire) must not be used as "an extra conductor". All ground wires are tied together wherever they come together with a pigtail or long end attached to the outlet box (light box, etc.) if metal and one attached to the framework of the fixture itself, and not to the white (neutral) wire(s).

Post us a diagram of what you now have.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 05-01-2009 at 07:16 AM.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Help! wall light fixture w/ switch 8christiest Electrical 3 08-28-2007 03:21 PM
Ceiling Fixture / Switch Wiring gregger Electrical 1 10-21-2006 07:47 PM
find switch to control outdoor light fixture CaymanAg Electrical 1 07-10-2005 08:43 PM
New Switch / Ceiling Fixture - Help nelrolo3 Electrical 1 03-12-2004 06:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.