Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2013, 09:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Share |
Default

4 way switch and neutrals


Since light switches now require neutrals is this wiring method still code acceptable?

Ground wire is omitted for clarity, but will be in the circuit.
http://www.diychatroom.com/attachmen...-lite-4way.jpg


Last edited by n175h; 07-14-2013 at 09:13 PM.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:51 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

4 way switch and neutrals


The only two switches on the left and centre one is legit and the thrid on the right side is not legit.

The only way you can do is run from left to right all the way thru so power in left then go right to the four way switch then go the other three way switch then go to the luminaire.

That route will have netural all the way thru.

Unless you snag a XX-4 NM cable then it will be legit either way.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
n175h (07-15-2013)
Old 07-15-2013, 05:43 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

4 way switch and neutrals


Quote:
Originally Posted by n175h View Post
Since light switches now require neutrals is this wiring method still code acceptable?

Ground wire is omitted for clarity, but will be in the circuit.
http://www.diychatroom.com/attachmen...-lite-4way.jpg

Looks like one of my diagrams.

Will the circuit function properly? Yes

Although a lot of the code deals with safety issues, the fact that there is no neutral at the right switch is in no way a safety issue.

It has to do with someone in the future adding a switch that requires a neutral like a timer, motion sensor, etc.

Would I lose sleep over no neutral there. Not, and I'm sure 90% of others would not either.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
n175h (07-15-2013)
Old 07-15-2013, 05:50 AM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

4 way switch and neutrals


If there is attic above, basement below, the backside of the wall is not finished, or there is drop ceiling above that 3rd switch, you do not need to include the neutral in the box.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (07-15-2013), n175h (07-15-2013), stickboy1375 (07-15-2013)
Old 07-15-2013, 12:55 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

4 way switch and neutrals


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If there is attic above, basement below, the backside of the wall is not finished, or there is drop ceiling above that 3rd switch, you do not need to include the neutral in the box.
That is instering to know that part.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
n175h (07-15-2013)
Old 07-15-2013, 04:33 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

4 way switch and neutrals


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
That is instering to know that part.

Merci,
Marc
Its skipped over a lot in these threads.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
n175h (07-15-2013)
Old 07-15-2013, 07:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Default

4 way switch and neutrals


Thanks for the replies. Didn't think it would pass the inspection. AHJ is really tough in my town. Building a new home and have to do it right. I think I can run all the way through the chain and send the power up from the end. Thanks for the helpful hint.
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 09:49 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,632
Default

4 way switch and neutrals


Quote:
Originally Posted by n175h View Post
Thanks for the replies. Didn't think it would pass the inspection. AHJ is really tough in my town. Building a new home and have to do it right. I think I can run all the way through the chain and send the power up from the end. Thanks for the helpful hint.
Seriously doubt you are dealing with the AHJ, just an inspector with a badge that makes him feel important.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 04:06 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

4 way switch and neutrals


If u are going to use black and red as your travelers you should use them the whole way thu as travelers...the 14/3

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way light circuit, middle load, neutrals in switch box? langless28 Electrical 1 10-16-2012 09:32 PM
Single pole switch wired with two neutrals. buckybadger Electrical 2 07-26-2012 07:04 AM
Do the neutrals for a light switch need to be in the same box as the switch? kornbln Electrical 4 04-06-2009 08:23 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 11:05 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.