4 Way Switch Circuits - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2011, 10:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 Way Switch Circuits


Can any number of light circuits be placed between the switches on a 4 way circuit as long as it does not exceed the capacity of the circuit?

For example: A light between the first 3 way switch and four way switch and then 3 lights between the four way switch and second 3 way switch?


Thanks, Steve

Advertisement

Sierevello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:14 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,043
Rewards Points: 2,884
Default

4 Way Switch Circuits


Placing lights between the switches makes the wiring more complicated. It is easier to wire them from one end of the switches. Doing it the other way requires additional conductors in the cables.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.

Last edited by Jim Port; 02-02-2011 at 10:18 PM. Reason: spelling
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

4 Way Switch Circuits


Maybe, If you are just talking about location the answer is yes, if you mean to connect the lights in between the switches the answer is no.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:17 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,379
Rewards Points: 3,552
Blog Entries: 4
Default

4 Way Switch Circuits


What you are describing can be done but it will require four wire cable for parts of the circuit. It is not the standard way to do it.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 10:24 PM   #5
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

4 Way Switch Circuits


Wiring a multiple location circuit in deivance to standard or common practice could lead to people getting hurt. Just make a junction at the existing light and run the circuit to the new location..

I dont understand why you would want to "put a light between switches"
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 11:21 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 Way Switch Circuits


I understand now. The lights need to be at the end of the circuit.

Thank you for the clarification.


-Steve
Sierevello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:14 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

4 Way Switch Circuits


Let's imagine that you are all ready to begin installing your 3 way or 4 way switch setup with lights between the switches here and there.

Start by stringing just enough wires to operate one light preferably at one end or the other end of the light sequence physically. Then add two wire cable from that light to the remaining lights. Hint: It is best to run 3 wire cable non-stop between the switch boxes. Wire the first light from one of the 3 way switches in a 4 way setup (not the 4 way switch)

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing manufactured home light switch to dimmer. Why 3 circuits? MikeVila Electrical 17 06-10-2012 02:12 PM
Wiring 2 light fixtures to same switch and add outlet RyanS2000 Electrical 13 10-10-2010 03:17 AM
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 04:17 PM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 09:00 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 07:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts