Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-28-2009, 09:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Share |
Unhappy

4-way switch


Hi, I'm about to pull out more hair and hoping someone here can help me. I tried replacing an old 4-way hall switch with a dimmer - unfortunately it was a 3-way dimmer, so obviously didn't work. I couldn't find a 4-way dimmer, so bought a new 4-way switch to go back to square one (I had already thrown out the old one). I've tried all wiring options and the new 4-way won't work. I'm wondering if it is because the wiring isn't grounded and the new switch has a ground wire screw? Even if it did work, I then read that I shouldn't use the grounded switch in an ungrounded receptacle, so now feel stuck. If this is so, is there a site where I can get an old fashioned, ungrounded 4-way switch, so I can move on and forget this aggravation?
kdodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:25 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,505
Default

4-way switch


The lack of a ground will have no effect on whether the switch works or not.

Make sure you have a 4way switch and not a two pole 240V switch... they look the same but are very different.
The 4 ways either have the travelers from switch A on one side and those from switch B on the other, or they they connect top and bottom. Most will have two screws one color and the other two another color to distinguish how the travelers should connect.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 09:49 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

4-way switch


Yes, I have the 4-way - two on each side...
kdodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 10:24 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,050
Default

4-way switch


You will need to read the instructions on the box to see how to wire the pairs of travellers. Some are top/bottom, some are left/right.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 10:35 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

4-way switch


Thought they were top, bottom, but I'll try the left, right variation when I get home. Thanks.
kdodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 10:36 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

4-way switch


Oh, and thanks. Good to hear the lack of ground wire won't matter.
kdodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 10:54 AM   #7
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,505
Default

4-way switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by kdodge View Post
Yes, I have the 4-way - two on each side...
The 240V two pole switch is 2 per side also, that's why I said look closely.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.