Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-18-2010, 03:07 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Share |
Default

4 way dimmer


Does anyone make 4 way dimmer switches? I've not had any luck finding any 4 way dimmer setups.

I've seen some things call multi-location dimming controls, but am having trouble telling if they are some type of remote or what. They don't seem to be a regular 4 way from what I can tell.

Doesn't anyone make some type of digital dimmer switch setup that allows you to adjust the dimmer from 2 or more locations? I've never used dimmers from more than 1 location before. If there was a dimmer control on each physical switch, can't the switching work in the standard method that a 3/4-way setup works, with the dimmer on each switch controlling the load when that switch is active?

I can use a regular 4 way in the mix if I have to. This is for my kitchen and I have 3 entrances to the kitchen, I was thinking that I would like to have access to the dimmer at all 3 doors.

A 600 watt dimmer should be fine, as the largest load should be 6 cans with 50W halogen spots in it. No low voltage, All 120v.

Thanks

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 03:21 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

4 way dimmer


They don't make 4-way dimmers so you'll have to use a 3-way dimmer at the 3-way switch location.

The 600 watt dimmer will work fine.

__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Magnettica For This Useful Post:
jamiedolan (08-18-2010)
Old 08-18-2010, 04:46 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,321
Default

4 way dimmer


I don't know who makes them but I understand you can buy special dimmers that can dim from multiple locations.

In a regular setup if one dimmer was set to 50%, that is the max that the other dimmer would see at full brightness.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 04:57 PM   #4
Craftsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 66
Default

4 way dimmer


Lutron makes their Maestro line of electronic dimmers that are compatable with 3 and 4 way wiring and can dim from up to ten locations. We have installed these with good success. The only downfall (as with anything electronic) seems to be supply voltages (surges and dips). We have had to replace some after storms and would recommend good surge protection at the service.
Superrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 06:41 PM   #5
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

4 way dimmer


+1 on Maestro. Nice product but a bit touchy as has been mentioned. Make sure you have one master dimmer. The rest are slaves. Won't work with all slaves.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 06:59 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

4 way dimmer


All the bigger names in dimmers (Lutron, Leviton, Lightolier) make "smart dimmers" that CAN be used in 4-way applications, but must also be used in all other locations as well. You cannot just use one at a 4-way switch.
As has been stated, all switch locations are dimmable then.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 10:38 AM   #7
Craftsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 66
Default

4 way dimmer


Both Home Depot and Lowes carry the Maestro dimmers. With three locations you will need two 3-way and one multi location (4-way) units. As good practice we do not install these without surge protection at the service (or a signed waiver from the customer that we are not responsible for dimmer failure without the recommended protection). Hope this helps, good luck with your project!
Superrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 12:45 AM   #8
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

4 way dimmer


Thank you everyone for the info.

I got a bit delayed, had to finish the walls and that took about a week longer than expected.

I should be able to start the electrical this week.

Thanks

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Wife said, "The lights are flickering." Dimmer on aluminum wiring Law911 Electrical 4 03-26-2010 11:19 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Dimmer switches brokenknees Electrical 9 11-29-2009 05:59 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.