Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2009, 04:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

4 switches on a single wire


Hi,

I have a 4-gang box with old switches on my main floor and I'm planning on changing the switches. When I looked at the existing wiring I noticed that the incoming current is run through the bottom screw of each switch with a single wire. The wire is stripped in 4 separate spots to allow it to contact each screw. Where the screws make contact with the wire, the wire is not a well shaped U, it really just runs under one side of the screw, barely making contact.

I'm assuming this was done to avoid pigtails and save space. I've never seen this in anything I've read so I'm just wondering if anyone else has seen this before. Is this is a safe and common practice?

dukewalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 04:57 PM   #2
Member
 
BCSparkyGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 63
Default

4 switches on a single wire


seen it and done it. the person who did yours probably did it in a hurry and didn't put them in a good U shape, and it is posible to a screw to loosen off over time, especially if they were not tightened enough initially. No, there is nothing wrong with this, it takes up less space in a box, and works just fine.

BCSparkyGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 05:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: GTA, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 10
Default

4 switches on a single wire


Thanks very much - that's good to know. I'll install the new switches using the same technique and proper contact for each screw.
dukewalsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 05:37 PM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

4 switches on a single wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by dukewalsh View Post
Hi,

I have a 4-gang box with old switches on my main floor and I'm planning on changing the switches. When I looked at the existing wiring I noticed that the incoming current is run through the bottom screw of each switch with a single wire. The wire is stripped in 4 separate spots to allow it to contact each screw. Where the screws make contact with the wire, the wire is not a well shaped U, it really just runs under one side of the screw, barely making contact.

I'm assuming this was done to avoid pigtails and save space. I've never seen this in anything I've read so I'm just wondering if anyone else has seen this before. Is this is a safe and common practice?
Yes,Very common
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 05:57 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

4 switches on a single wire


I done the same thing from time to time but not very often like that fashon only time I will do that if the box capaity size is right on the boarderline with the numbers of conductors this is more common with older switch box which it have much less room than new multigang box is.

But only quirk I hate about it is when you add a dimmer switch or fan speed control then you have no choice but make a pigtail for it.


Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
Adding 4 Recessed Lights to single wire themayor Electrical 5 02-05-2009 04:08 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.