Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2010, 02:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

4 switches, 2 lights, 2 circuits and an idiot.


Ooops.

I was replacing some old light switches for new and I got called away whilst in the middle of rewiring a double switch. Now I don't know where they went.... idiot.

Hope someone can help me...

Hope the picture helps here... I have two lights that are controlled by 4 switches. Two singles, one for each light.... and a double, again one for each light.

I have not touched the two singles so they are still wired up how they were... The thing that is confusing me I think is that the light upstairs is on the upstairs circuit and the light downstairs is on the downstairs circuit, but they are all connected to each other.... ?

The coloured dots I have put on the image are the same as the wires.

The double switches connections are labelled L1 L2 Com (x 2)

Please help!

If this is just gibberish but you think you can help please ask me for what you need to know!

Thanks for your time,

Matt.

http://twitpic.com/13gek6/full


Last edited by thedarkglove; 02-15-2010 at 02:13 PM. Reason: Forgot picture. *slaps face*
thedarkglove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 03:22 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

4 switches, 2 lights, 2 circuits and an idiot.


I don't understand your drawing. Add some lines indicating cables. Show all the connections(except ground) in the switch boxes where no changes have been made. Identify the common screw. It will be the black one or marked COMMON.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 05:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default

4 switches, 2 lights, 2 circuits and an idiot.


Thanks for getting back.

Does this help?

The coloured dots are the wires... and are the colour of the wires...

http://twitpic.com/13hc87
thedarkglove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 08:37 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

4 switches, 2 lights, 2 circuits and an idiot.


No help to me. A three way has three terminals. The single switch has 5 wires. How are they interconnected? Which ones are in the same cable? Which ones are actually attached to the switch? How many actual cables are in the switch box.

I suspect you could this setup repeated for each switch pair. Switch2 being the ones you need to connect.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 10:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

4 switches, 2 lights, 2 circuits and an idiot.


Can you measure continuity (using an ohmmeter or multimeter)?

You need to find out which one of the wires in the double box matches up with L1 in the upstairs single box, with L2 in the upstairs single box, etc.

I would anticipate that each wire in the double box has at most one match either upstairs or downstairs and some wires might not have any matches.

Please report the results.

A long single conductor wire that can be stretched upstairs or downstairs can come in handy when trying to do continuity tests.

Turn off the power before doing continuity tests.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2010, 10:16 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default

4 switches, 2 lights, 2 circuits and an idiot.


Thanks AllenJ,

That is what I did and it became obvious where they needed to go. I had two of the same coloured wires mixed up.

Cheers all.

thedarkglove is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI and 3-wire circuits...ugghh mhops Electrical 11 03-17-2010 11:22 AM
Replaced some switches and outlets, now some lights don't work DWooderson Electrical 3 02-02-2010 12:06 PM
Arc Fault Break Tripping when any light switch turned on elab1 Electrical 60 11-20-2009 01:24 PM
Outdoor lights (Soffit etc) DIY_JC Electrical 2 09-25-2009 11:45 AM
adding an additional light to 2 3-way switches basement_guy Electrical 10 07-20-2008 09:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.