Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2012, 07:28 PM   #16
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Share |
Default

4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan

The breaker is in place to protect the wiring, not the dryer!
Then why would an appliance spec a max circuit size? If what you say is true, you could wire a dryer on a 50 amp circuit if the branch circuit is appropriately wired.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:42 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 35
Default

4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation


When you say "Make sure that the bonding strap is disconnected from the neutral inside the dryer" does the attached photo look correct then? I do not see a bonding strap on the neutral. However, take a look at the photo... I think it looks okay but there are two neutral wires there.
Attached Thumbnails
4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation-img_2084.jpg  
flipjarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:56 PM   #18
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Then why would an appliance spec a max circuit size? If what you say is true, you could wire a dryer on a 50 amp circuit if the branch circuit is appropriately wired.
Question: Is it permissable to have a 30 amp 120/240 receptacle on a 240V 50 amp circuit?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:58 PM   #19
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by flipjarg View Post
When you say "Make sure that the bonding strap is disconnected from the neutral inside the dryer" does the attached photo look correct then? I do not see a bonding strap on the neutral. However, take a look at the photo... I think it looks okay but there are two neutral wires there.
Looks good at this end..
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 08:01 PM   #20
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by flipjarg View Post
Thanks for the input... its nice to see two people agree. I will definitely switch the breaker to a 30amp. There was no dryer in this spot before so I wired the receptacle/outlet.

So... from what I have learned from this thread... the new picture (attached) is correct.... right?
The pictured receptacle is NOT a 30 amp dryer receptacle.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 08:17 PM   #21
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair
Question: Is it permissable to have a 30 amp 120/240 receptacle on a 240V 50 amp circuit?
Not unless there was supplemental protection specifically for that recept
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:01 PM   #22
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,078
Default

4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation


The wire clamp does not look right on the back of the dryer.
Looks like the lock screws are the only thing holding that cable from falling into the back of the dryer.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 09:26 PM   #23
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,327
Default

4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
The wire clamp does not look right on the back of the dryer.
Looks like the lock screws are the only thing holding that cable from falling into the back of the dryer.
That is a Tomic connector. Looks fine to me.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 10:44 PM   #24
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4 Prong Dryer Outlet & Breaker Installation


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
The wire clamp does not look right on the back of the dryer.
Looks like the lock screws are the only thing holding that cable from falling into the back of the dryer.
Those clamps work fine. Sometimes when replacing a cord I have to use a romex connector because the previous person did not install the one that came with it. They must just toss it out thinking it's a spare part.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
4 prong, dryer, ground


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dryer - 4 prong to 3 prong majorwest Electrical 15 02-06-2012 05:03 AM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 09:13 PM
New electric dryer install trips breaker cortell Electrical 8 08-29-2011 09:09 PM
Circuit Breaker trips when I plug into an outlet Alex in Orlando Electrical 3 09-05-2010 01:04 AM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 10:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.