Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2009, 12:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


I have a 4 prong dryer with a 3 prong recipitcle. Now I have my 3 prong cord but how do I hook it up. I dont see a ground strap here are some pics to help you guys help me lol. thanks

[IMG]file:///C:/DOCUME%7E1/CHRIST%7E1/LOCALS%7E1/Temp/moz-screenshot.jpg[/IMG]

1meanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:27 PM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


Try keeping the camera further away when you take the picture.

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


^^^^ thanks for answering my question
1meanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:42 PM   #4
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


The most helpful advice I can give you is; people do not like looking at blurry pics. It makes you look like you don't care enough to take a clear picture, ie. you don't care enough to do the job right. Remember, people help on this forum using their own time and expertise - they are not going to waste their time trying to interpret your blurry photos.

Set your camera to Macro or back up and then zoom in and take some clear pictures. Then people on the forum will be willing to take their own time to help you.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 12:57 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


The picture looked normal to me; I guess I need glasses.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 01:16 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


Its a ****ty camera and photobucket killed the the little quality the pictures did have. Thanks for your help though.



Last edited by 1meanek; 05-03-2009 at 01:34 PM.
1meanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 01:23 PM   #7
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


There's no need to get snippy.

In fact in the new picture it's easy to see the bonding strap, it's the white wire under the ground screw. It appears to already be set up for 3 wire use.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 01:33 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


Im sorry. Just frustrated with this house and repairs. I am not a handyman. I like to work on cars. So you think its ready to go? I leave the white external ground where it is correct.
1meanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 01:45 PM   #9
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


Yes just hook the new cord to the three terminals and leave the white wire under that screw.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 01:48 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


thanks gigs. Ill go do it a few minutes after I help my wife hang some shelving.
1meanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 02:36 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


done took 10 minutes thanks gigs. sorry diy chatroom for me being an ass. ill have lots questions in the near future.
1meanek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 06:47 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,730
Default

4 prong to 3 prong


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1meanek View Post
done took 10 minutes thanks gigs. sorry diy chatroom for me being an ass. ill have lots questions in the near future.
Don't worry about being an ass, we've all done it before.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace 2 prong outlets with 3 prong outlets rpsjn4 Electrical 27 01-17-2010 01:34 PM
Please help, changing dryer cord from 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate Electrical 8 08-10-2008 04:42 PM
dryer Outlet change 3 prong to 4 prong oldpirate General DIY Discussions 2 08-06-2008 06:18 PM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 08:59 AM
3 prong 4 prong 240 ranges. K2eoj Electrical 1 11-21-2005 06:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.