Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2012, 10:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

4 lamps on a 2 to 1 ballast conversion


Hey Folks

My 4 kitchen tubes were dim/flickering so I went to the local home improvement store and bought replacements. I don't recall my original bulbs but the replacements I ended up with were F34 t12's. Plugged them in and they were just as weak as the old ones.

Went back to the store and was sold a ballast (Phillips REB-4P32-SC) that is supposed to take the place of my two 12 year old ballasts (LUMI-KON R-240-120-CP).

I basically wired the new ballast in a parallel fashion compared to how the previous ballasts were wired. I know that’s an oversimplification and might not make too much sense. Just trying to avoid uploading wiring diagrams if possible.
The problem is only two bulbs work at a time and only if they are installed in pairs(both on the same side, both on the 'inside', or both on the 'outside'). They do not illuminate if they are installed in a staggered manner(one on the outside of one side with the other bulb installed in the inside of the other side).

As I look on the box of my new ballast, it says "for F17, F25, or T8 lamps". Are my T12 bulbs my problem?

thanks


Last edited by columbiawifi; 07-06-2012 at 10:35 PM.
columbiawifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 11:48 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,246
Default

4 lamps on a 2 to 1 ballast conversion


The bulbs are not the problem in this situation...however...you will burn out that ballast much quicker. You have to use the lamps the ballast is made for.

I am looking for the diagrams.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 11:54 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,246
Default

4 lamps on a 2 to 1 ballast conversion


It appears that your old ballast required each of the pins to have leads. You tie both the leads coming off the socket together then follow the wiring diagram on the new ballast.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 12:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Default

4 lamps on a 2 to 1 ballast conversion


I think I'm with you. I might jot down something and post it, just to make sure I'm good.. and there wont be any post-4th of July fireworks. (I'm a DC guy..AC scares me. )
columbiawifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 02:36 PM   #5
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,469
Default

4 lamps on a 2 to 1 ballast conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by columbiawifi View Post
I think I'm with you. I might jot down something and post it, just to make sure I'm good..
the new ballasts should have a diagram on them.
(some even have lines drawn with pretty colors)

Follow the directions on YOUR ballasts.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 07-07-2012 at 02:38 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 03:17 PM   #6
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 961
Default

4 lamps on a 2 to 1 ballast conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by columbiawifi View Post
I think I'm with you. I might jot down something and post it, just to make sure I'm good.. and there wont be any post-4th of July fireworks. (I'm a DC guy..AC scares me. )
It's the voltage that your thinking of. DC is actually worse than AC. DC will make a bigger explosion if everything else is equal
jimmy21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 09:49 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 8
Default

4 lamps on a 2 to 1 ballast conversion


I think I understand now. One thing that was throwing me was the fixture’s wiring. The outside lamps were connected to each other (one side) as were the inside lamps. Didn’t occur to me that I would need to snip that connection to account for the new ballast’s wiring.
The new ballast does not have a 4 bulb application wiring diagram, but I located it on the manufacturer’s site.
Thanks again for all the replies.
Attached Thumbnails
4 lamps on a 2 to 1 ballast conversion-4-bulbs.jpg  
columbiawifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 10:19 AM   #8
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,469
Default

4 lamps on a 2 to 1 ballast conversion


Quote:
Originally Posted by columbiawifi View Post

I think I understand now.
Didn’t occur to me that I would need to snip that connection...
You got it.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help replacing T12 Ballast hugocraft Electrical 36 12-21-2012 03:16 PM
T12 to T8 fluorescent conversion? rjniles Electrical 28 08-18-2011 08:39 AM
2 ballast to 1 ballast for 4 lamps HJR Electrical 7 07-12-2011 06:24 AM
T12 ballast to T8 c.bustle Electrical 5 07-10-2011 10:33 AM
No ballast in 48 inch fluorescent fixture. Timster Electrical 16 06-10-2010 04:02 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.