4-gang Box In New Construction - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2013, 08:08 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4-gang box in new construction


No real rewiring. Switches were all wired up after drywall and painting which was 1 week after the CO. Ticked at myself for not catching it to begin with as well but didn't think I would have to follow the build day-to-day. Those of us who only do this once-in-a-lifetime do not know what fine details need to be looked at and I get the impression the homeowner is not expected to sign-off on each piece (in a spec home that is) as I have no itinerary of when milestones are reached.

Advertisement

JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:11 PM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4-gang box in new construction


If box fill was not an issue I would have also used a double switch too. I always keep some in case someone wants to add a light somewhere. Instead of replacing the box I can just fish a wire to the box and add the double switch.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:12 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4-gang box in new construction


Sorry, lack of supplies is a cop-out. It's your job to ensure you have the proper supplies to the job at hand. HD, Lowes and Dauphin (a dedicated electrical supply house) is 10 minutes away. If I show of to your place of business to do IT work, will you accept I can't do the job right because I didn't bring a patch cable with me?
JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:14 PM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,167
Rewards Points: 2,126
Default

4-gang box in new construction


**** happens? Not sure why you are venting this on a DIY forum when all you have to do is ask the electrician to change what he did... not sure what the issue is?
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Rochsolid (03-31-2013)
Old 03-29-2013, 08:15 PM   #20
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4-gang box in new construction


If your realtor is smart, they'd get an electrician to correct it for you. Have them put a double switch and close up the switch below. The $200 it would cost would be a wise investment to keep a happy client.
Property Medics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:17 PM   #21
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,167
Rewards Points: 2,126
Default

4-gang box in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRCL View Post
Sorry, lack of supplies is a cop-out. It's your job to ensure you have the proper supplies to the job at hand. HD, Lowes and Dauphin (a dedicated electrical supply house) is 10 minutes away. If I show of to your place of business to do IT work, will you accept I can't do the job right because I didn't bring a patch cable with me?
You asked for something to be added, you didn't specify any special requirements... now you want it changed, so... seems pretty simple to me.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:28 PM   #22
General Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4-gang box in new construction


Not sure if this will ease your mind or not but you should also keep in mind, your purchasing from a builder who likely subcontracted. Builders have to beat everyone up on their pricing to maximize profits. In turn, time and money are even larger factors. Since you didn't specify, they figured this was one corner they could cut.
Property Medics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 08:38 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4-gang box in new construction


Sorry, didn't mean to come off as being testy. Being devils advocate is my nature. I'll see what the realtor comes back with as i have no direct contact with electrician - builders sub. Just couldn't immagine why the best work would not be done as a default. After all, its a job for a day and the sub gets to walk away and forget but possibly the clients home for life. Worst-case scenario, I'll order up a old-work 4-gang with the interior stud scews and patch everything up myself. May want to turn it into a 3-way anyway. We'll see. Thanks for the input all.
JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JRCL For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (03-29-2013)
Old 03-31-2013, 09:55 PM   #24
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

4-gang box in new construction


Quote:
Originally Posted by JRCL
Sorry, didn't mean to come off as being testy. Being devils advocate is my nature. I'll see what the realtor comes back with as i have no direct contact with electrician - builders sub. Just couldn't immagine why the best work would not be done as a default. After all, its a job for a day and the sub gets to walk away and forget but possibly the clients home for life. Worst-case scenario, I'll order up a old-work 4-gang with the interior stud scews and patch everything up myself. May want to turn it into a 3-way anyway. We'll see. Thanks for the input all.
Why are you dealing with the realtor? Go talk to the builder. If its that big of a deal, go get it fixed. I don't get where the reAltor comes into play. He sells you the house and is on tithe next one, you don't talk with the builder that Is building your home? Thad weird
Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 10:01 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4-gang box in new construction


Planned community. Everything goes through the realtor.
JRCL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 11:22 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

4-gang box in new construction


I would not like that!

As said above, it is your house. Do whatever it takes to get it changed to how you want it.

Advertisement

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Billy_Bob For This Useful Post:
Rochsolid (04-01-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors rstyszko Electrical 9 06-08-2012 04:17 PM
There is no two gang mud ring & wall plate for a CENTERED switch? miamicuse Electrical 4 06-07-2012 06:34 PM
Soft Hearted Construction Guys Wildie Building & Construction 0 11-29-2010 07:05 PM
wiring a single gang and 3 gang box from one source twinkietrucker Electrical 4 02-17-2010 08:01 AM
2 gang old box, made into 3 gang, off center?? fabian Electrical 9 01-15-2010 10:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts