4 Gang Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 01:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 gang box


Ok, I want to wire a 4 gang box with 4 receptacles which will give me 8 plugs inside the box. I hope I explained that right. 2 plugs on each receptacles. It is on a 20amp circuit it is at the end of the ciruit and it will have one circuit wire entering the gang box. Do I have to pigtail 4 black wires going to brass connectors and 4 white wires going to silver connectors to each recpetacle. and 4 ground wire to each one as well. When doing the pigtail does it matter if the black and white pigtails go to the same level on the receptacle or does the black need to go to the top brass screw and the white go to the ssilver screw on the bottom. I hope this is making sense. Thanks for your help

Advertisement

kosovofalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 01:36 PM   #2
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,300
Rewards Points: 2,178
Default

4 gang box


You can wire the receptacles using pigtails, or you can connect the hot from the first receptacle to the hot for the second receptacle, then from the second receptacle to the third etc. Same with the neutral. Each outlet must be grounded, you can pigtail all the grounds together. If you use a metal box, you need to ground the box as well.

Advertisement

Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 01:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 gang box


Does it matter top or bottom screw when connecting pigtails
kosovofalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 154
Default

4 gang box


Not as long as you don't break off the tabs.
herdfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 04:23 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

4 gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by kosovofalcon View Post
Does it matter top or bottom screw when connecting pigtails
No.
The grounds have to be pigtailed, they can not loop from receptacle to receptacle.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:20 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
The grounds have to be pigtailed, they can not loop from receptacle to receptacle.
Not saying you're wrong here, but can you cite the code for this? I was trying to find it on my own and was unable to.
insaneirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:27 PM   #7
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,801
Rewards Points: 2,276
Default

4 gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by insaneirish View Post
Not saying you're wrong here, but can you cite the code for this? I was trying to find it on my own and was unable to.
NEC 110.14 Wiring Methods conductors and screw terminal Only one conductor shall be installed under a terminal screw. In boxes with more than one ground wire, the ground wires shall be spliced with a wire tail or pig tail attached to the grounding terminal screw of the device.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:33 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,208
Default

4 gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
NEC 110.14 Wiring Methods conductors and screw terminal Only one conductor shall be installed under a terminal screw. In boxes with more than one ground wire, the ground wires shall be spliced with a wire tail or pig tail attached to the grounding terminal screw of the device.
There is only ONE ground wire in the box, according to the OP.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:36 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 gang box


Yes only one main ground coming in. I did pigtail the grounds and ground each plug . The black and white I do the same thing. Black to bronze and white to silver. When connecting black and white do they connect at the same level on the plug. Or does black go high and white go low.
kosovofalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:51 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
There is only ONE ground wire in the box, according to the OP.
Yea, does not sound like this is a prohibition against daisy chaining multiple outlets on the same EGC in a box. If there is something else that does prohibit it, I would like to know.
insaneirish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:58 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

4 gang box


Ok thanks
kosovofalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:09 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

4 gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by insaneirish View Post
Yea, does not sound like this is a prohibition against daisy chaining multiple outlets on the same EGC in a box. If there is something else that does prohibit it, I would like to know.
I've never been called on it and I do it all the time.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 06:12 PM   #13
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

4 gang box


Quote:
Originally Posted by kosovofalcon View Post
When connecting black and white do they connect at the same level on the plug. Or does black go high and white go low.
It does not matter, they can connect to either the bottom or top screw. Just make sure the black wire is always connected to a brass screw and the white wire to the silver screws.

Advertisement

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage single gang box GFCI w/12 conductors rstyszko Electrical 9 06-08-2012 04:17 PM
There is no two gang mud ring & wall plate for a CENTERED switch? miamicuse Electrical 4 06-07-2012 06:34 PM
Dual Bath Vanity GFCI - Single Gang Boxes or a Single Two Gang Box? WoodmanFL Electrical 2 12-11-2011 08:39 PM
wiring a single gang and 3 gang box from one source twinkietrucker Electrical 4 02-17-2010 08:01 AM
2 gang old box, made into 3 gang, off center?? fabian Electrical 9 01-15-2010 10:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts