Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2013, 08:41 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Installing 4 ceiling lights and would like to have control of them through 3 different switch locations. I'm confused on how to wire, I have 12/2 wire coming into the primary switch box and so I need help with how to get the other two switch locations tied to the lights.

ecommerceaustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:03 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,441
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Run power into first switch.
Run 12/3 wires from the first switch to the second switch and then to the third switch.
Run 12/2 cable from the third switch to light one then light two etc.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:50 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 13
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Run power into first switch.
Run 12/3 wires from the first switch to the second switch and then to the third switch.
Run 12/2 cable from the third switch to light one then light two etc.
Great start....couple of more -

1. (Switch 1 to Switch 2 then Switch 2 to Switch 3) OR (Switch 1 to Switch 2 then Switch 1 to Switch 3)

2. Can the 12/2 (for the lights) start at any of the switches or does it have start from the last switch (#3) in the run of power from the first switch?

Thanks
ecommerceaustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 01:13 PM   #4
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 699
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


1 to 2 to 3, has to start from the '3rd' switch. Unless you use 12/4 cable.

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 02:41 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,441
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


1. IF you are under the current code requiring neutrals in switch boxes then power to S1 to S2 to S3 to Lights.
2. See #1. If not then lights can attach at any switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:48 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by ecommerceaustin View Post
Installing 4 ceiling lights and would like to have control of them through 3 different switch locations. I'm confused on how to wire, I have 12/2 wire coming into the primary switch box and so I need help with how to get the other two switch locations tied to the lights.
You will need two 3-way switches and one 4-way switch. Power comes into one of trhe 3-way location(in diagram below this is the left 3-way). The 4-way switch is wired between the two 3-ways. The 3-way on the right in the diagram is taking the switched power to the lights.

The 3-way location on the right in the diagram may require a neutral at the location depending on your code. The switch itself does not need the neutral to function but newer codes require a neutral at all switch locations.

Also no ground wires shown for ease of drawing.
Attached Thumbnails
4 Cans & 3 Switches-3way-4way-lite-4way.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 02-03-2013 at 06:55 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:51 AM   #7
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane

You will need two 3-way switches and one 4-way switch:
Thats a code violation. Go from s1-s2-s3 then to lights to keep nuetral at everyswitch location
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:57 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by eastcoastsparky View Post
Thats a code violation. Go from s1-s2-s3 then to lights to keep nuetral at everyswitch location
Depending on his current wiring setup...DAMN the neutral at the far right switch location in the above diagram. If the poster is never going to automate or use sensing switches...DAMn the neutral.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (02-03-2013)
Old 02-03-2013, 07:06 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


For the code police: neutral at each switch location
Attached Thumbnails
4 Cans & 3 Switches-3way-4way-lite-4way.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:48 AM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


I will argue that a dead end three-way/four-way does not require a neutral since it is a switch loop.


Quote:
404.2 Switch Connections.
(A) Three-Way and Four-Way Switches. Three-way and
four-way switches shall be wired so that all switching is
done only in the ungrounded circuit conductor. Where in
metal raceways or metal-armored cables, wiring between
switches and outlets shall be in accordance with 300.20(A).

Exception: Switch loops shall not require a grounded
conductor.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (02-03-2013)
Old 02-03-2013, 08:18 AM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,501
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I will argue that a dead end three-way/four-way does not require a neutral since it is a switch loop.
Interesting because (C) seems to contradict the exception to (A). The inspectors and professional forums all talk about needing the neutral, regardless, including the death of a dead end three way.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:24 AM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Interesting because (C) seems to contradict the exception to (A). The inspectors and professional forums all talk about needing the neutral, regardless, including the death of a dead end three way.

THB, we are still on 2008 so I don't know the ins and outs of it, but the way I read it, neutrals are not needed at dead ended 3/4 ways.

What I find a little curious, is why switch loops is in 3/4 ways, when it is just as, if not more, common to have a switch loop for a single pole.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:39 AM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,501
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Thb??
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:44 AM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Dyslexia...TBH...To Be Honest
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 12:25 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,927
Default

4 Cans & 3 Switches


Not all boxes in 3 way and 4 way switch loops have raw hot so neutral would
be of limited or no value.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weird wiring and wierd voltages on 3 dual switches... meweber1000 Electrical 5 12-18-2012 12:37 PM
Two 3-way switches, one acting as a master switch? Ler0y Jenkins Electrical 10 02-28-2012 12:01 PM
Replacing old switches RyanS2000 Electrical 4 09-11-2011 03:21 PM
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.