Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2012, 03:35 PM   #1
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Share |
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Was at the electric supply checking on prices for wire and supplies and they said I should use 4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 wire for a 200 amp sub panel. Makes sense since my main disconnect is only 4/0-4/0-2/0 and I have to install a ground at the sub panel and seperate neutral and ground.

Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 04:43 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,465
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Was at the electric supply checking on prices for wire and supplies
and they said I should use 4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 wire for a 200 amp sub panel.
Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated.
Will you be getting inspected?
Does your County/area require a 4wire (with ground) feed to sub panels?

ETA: I missed that this does have the 4th wire.
Is this THHN? or a URD quadplex?

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-26-2012 at 05:56 PM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 05:32 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Since I am in a neighborhood area an inspection will have to be done. The guy at electric supply even asked me why I would bother with a ground.

I was told by inspectors it's required and some come and say no. Thing about inspectors is they seem to have such a wide range of ideas. Friend worked all weekend on a hair salon when the inspector came he said fail you need cast drain iron drain pipes here. Another inspector said it was fine.

I have three wire now and it's just URD running in the attic to the panel not very safe but has been there for years. I would like to run conduit from the main panel all the way to the sub panel in my mobile home and run four wire to the panel.

I want to do this properly I am just getting so many mixed answers between people in the trade and people at some of the electric supply and AHJ. Called one electrical supply this afternoon and they said I had to run four 4/0 wires harder to pull and maybe larger conduit costing close to three times the price.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 05:37 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Also I may be able to reuse the wire that I have feeding the panel now. It's probably enough 4/0-4/0-2/0 just need to add a #2 wire and I think I have close to 100 feet of that somewhere.

I will have to measure if it's enough after I find out whether it's ok to reuse it. Does not look like anything wrong with it.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 08:45 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Was at the electric supply checking on prices for wire and supplies and they said I should use 4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 wire for a 200 amp sub panel. Makes sense since my main disconnect is only 4/0-4/0-2/0 and I have to install a ground at the sub panel and seperate neutral and ground.

Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated.
You never said if this sub will be in a building that is separate from the building that has the main or if it will be in the same structure as the main.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 08:48 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Sorry yes it will be in a separate building
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:00 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


I need a tad bit of clarification.

1.)Your service is for a mobile home
2.) Your service equipment (main disconnect) is on a pedestal or pole within 30 feet of the mobile home?
3.) The sub panel is 200 amps and it is in a separate building from the mobile home?
4.) Your wanting to feed that sub-panel from the service equipment enclosure where the main disconnect is located?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:11 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I need a tad bit of clarification.

1.)Your service is for a mobile home
2.) Your service equipment (main disconnect) is on a pedestal or pole within 30 feet of the mobile home?
3.) The sub panel is 200 amps and it is in a separate building from the mobile home?
4.) Your wanting to feed that sub-panel from the service equipment enclosure where the main disconnect is located?
Main service is in a garage but about 85 feet of cable length to the mobile home panel. Going to feed the sub panel with the feed through lugs to a sub panel with a main breaker and separate neutral and ground and will add two grounding rods and ground to copper water main.

All 200 amps
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:15 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Main service is in a garage but about 85 feet of cable length to the mobile home panel. Going to feed the sub panel with the feed through lugs to a sub panel with a main breaker and separate neutral and ground and will add two grounding rods and ground to copper water main.

All 200 amps
Sounds fine but why such a large sub-panel? Is the separate building a big shop or something?

Or are you just meeting the rules that the sub on feed thru must equal the service equipment rating?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:22 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


We have an electric tankless water heater. And may possibly add an electric range in the future. The old panel was 150 amps fed by 4/0. Hoping after the conduit run they are still long enough.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:29 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Also currently our home is fed by two feeds from the main one 100amp main panel that was original to the home. And one feed to the 150 amp panel from the feed though lugs.

I really would like to feed the new 200 amp panel where everything in my home that runs on 220 will be connected. Then feed the 100 amp panel with the new 200 amp panel separating all the neutrals and grounds the way they should be and adding better grounding. And at the same time making everything underground
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:34 PM   #12
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
We have an electric tankless water heater. And may possibly add an electric range in the future. The old panel was 150 amps fed by 4/0. Hoping after the conduit run they are still long enough.
So your running a new 4 wire main feeder from the service equipment in the garage to a new sub panel in the mobile home?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:37 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Yes. Main in garage is going to feed sub panel in the mobile home
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:40 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Hate the idea of all wire being exposed and overhead with bonded neutrals in sub panels. Really want it done much neater.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 10:43 PM   #15
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

4/0-4/0-2/0-#2 Legal for 200 amp sub panel?


Ok, sorry it takes me awhile sometimes to get one the same page. I'd just buy some mobile home feeder

http://www.cable.alcan.com/CablePubl...eder+Cable.htm

You will need 4/0-4/0-2/0-4 aluminum. You do not need a #2 equipment
ground ...who told you that??

Everything else sounds good.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 10:03 AM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 02:15 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.