Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-26-2013, 06:41 PM   #1

Share |
3Way switch and power through

(diagram attached)

As a post newbie, I've done two different three way switch projects, I've also done three multiple light switch boxes with multiple power sources and with through power going on to another switched unit. I've worked with canned recessed lighting. And I never proceeded with any of these projects before completely understanding every aspect of the wiring.

And in the past I've gotten stellar and considerate help on a number of occassions from this DIY forum. But I've also usually provided more evidence that I knew what I was doing through context of my wording of the question.

But in this case, I'm just throwing it out here:

I am going to do another 3Way switch project. A canned light at top of steps with switch on top and bottom of steps. The power is going to enter the light unit. But I want a through power line coming OUT of the light unit to go onto the terminus of the line which will be a two outlet plug.

I am attaching a diagram of this configuration minus the through-power coming out of the light unit. I know I'm going to have to piggyback the out line somehow, but I'm not seeing how to get the constant power source for the out line.....do I have to piggy the black to two different points? Just haven't refreshed enough to yet see the power flow correctly in the three way switch to figure it out how to sneak in the through line from the light outlet. And let me know if this idea is ill advised - I don't HAVE to do the through line, though I'd like to.
Attached Thumbnails
3Way switch and power through-3wayswitch.jpg  

DiegoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:50 PM   #2

If you want unswitched power at the light fixture then you need a four wire cable from the first switch to the fixture.