3WAY Switch Options - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 01:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3WAY Switch options


Hello all! I have used this message board to help me put together a nice starter home but i never went beyond what i felt comfortable doing on my own (paid electrician to upgrade panel to 200a) or without at least speaking to a pro first. With that said, I'm hoping someone out there can help me with my situation. I built a 12x20 shed, dug a trench and ran 2 - 12/2 UG lines from my house to the shed. This was done so i could have a few outlets and a couple lights in the shed. PROBLEM IS now i was hoping to add an exterior light onto the shed using 2 separate locations to turn it on/off (one at exit door of house and another at exit door of shed). I know in order to do this i should of used 12/3 wire because of the travelers but I'm an idiot and didn't think about this prior. is there ANY other way i can make this happen with my current setup? also, the exit of the house is a full unfinished basement so there are no restrictions from or to the electrical panel at all. i made a picture to help explain my situation a little better. ANY advice is greatly appreciated and thank you in advance!

Advertisement

met416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:22 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

3WAY Switch options


[img]C:\Documents and Settings\US Test-Dave Wright\Desktop[/img]

Advertisement

met416 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 733
Rewards Points: 508
Default

3WAY Switch options


Quote:
Originally Posted by met416 View Post
[img]C:\Documents and Settings\US Test-Dave Wright\Desktop[/img]

You linked to your PC's local drive. Attach images, by clicking the "Insert Image" button.

If you want to use 3-way switching configuration, you need to have the travelers. Maybe there's a wireless solution.
Seattle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:55 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

3WAY Switch options


You can't post images from your computer.
They need to be hosted on a site like photobucket or flickr.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:56 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

3WAY Switch options


Like seattle said, wireless.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:56 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

3WAY Switch options


Also you can only have one feed to your outbuilding. You said you had 2 cables running out there.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
jbfan (05-23-2013)
Old 05-23-2013, 02:22 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

3WAY Switch options


i think that has to do with services ....

230.2 Number of Services
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer

Last edited by Philly Master; 05-23-2013 at 02:24 PM.
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 02:44 PM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

3WAY Switch options


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
i think that has to do with services ....

230.2 Number of Services
Nope, but thanks for playing.

II. Buildings or Other Structures Supplied by a
Feeder(s) or Branch Circuit(s)
225.30 Number of Supplies.
A building or other structure
that is served by a branch circuit or feeder on the load side
of a service disconnecting means shall be supplied by only
one feeder or branch circuit unless permitted in 225.30(A)
through (E). For the purpose of this section, a multiwire
branch circuit shall be considered a single circuit.
Where a branch circuit or feeder originates in these
additional buildings or other structures, only one feeder or
branch circuit shall be permitted to supply power back to
the original building or structure, unless permitted in
225.30(A) through (E).
For the purpose of this section, a multiwire branch circuit

shall be considered a single circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 03:01 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

3WAY Switch options


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Nope, but thanks for playing.

II. Buildings or Other Structures Supplied by a
Feeder(s) or Branch Circuit(s)
225.30 Number of Supplies.
A building or other structure
that is served by a branch circuit or feeder on the load side
of a service disconnecting means shall be supplied by only
one feeder or branch circuit unless permitted in 225.30(A)
through (E). For the purpose of this section, a multiwire
branch circuit shall be considered a single circuit.
Where a branch circuit or feeder originates in these
additional buildings or other structures, only one feeder or
branch circuit shall be permitted to supply power back to
the original building or structure, unless permitted in
225.30(A) through (E).
For the purpose of this section, a multiwire branch circuit

shall be considered a single circuit.

LMAO you'll love this one .....

(D) Different Characteristics. Additional feeders or branch circuits shall be permitted for different voltages, frequencies, or phases or for different uses, such as control of outside lighting from multiple locations.
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:17 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

3WAY Switch options


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
LMAO you'll love this one .....

(D) Different Characteristics. Additional feeders or branch circuits shall be permitted for different voltages, frequencies, or phases or for different uses, such as control of outside lighting from multiple locations.
Kind of hard to do on a single phase system. Also we are not mixing something like a 277/480 and a 120/240 volt feeders. Try again.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (05-23-2013)
Old 05-23-2013, 04:36 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

3WAY Switch options


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
LMAO you'll love this one .....

(D) Different Characteristics. Additional feeders or branch circuits shall be permitted for different voltages, frequencies, or phases or for different uses, such as control of outside lighting from multiple locations.
Are you sure you're an electrician?
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 04:40 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,053
Rewards Points: 2,904
Default

3WAY Switch options


Almost have to give points for effort.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 05:06 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

3WAY Switch options


I wad just funning ... I could not help myself... And cracked myself u
You are coorect ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 05:27 PM   #14
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 500
Default

3WAY Switch options


Out of curiosity, would it be code-acceptable to put both circuits on a double pole breaker ?
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 05:28 PM   #15
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

3WAY Switch options


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle_in_rure View Post
Out of curiosity, would it be code-acceptable to put both circuits on a double pole breaker ?
You are allowed to run a multi wire branch circuit to a separate structure, meaning, instead of running (2) 12-2 UF's, he technically could have run a single 12-3 UF and been code compliant.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Philly Master (05-23-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3way switch and 4 way switch rich4343 Electrical 16 04-02-2012 11:10 AM
B&S Generator with Connecticut Electric Xfer Switch Rick5150 Electrical 19 01-20-2011 11:14 PM
split recptacle w/duplex recptacle to 3way switch HELP yeller Electrical 4 06-29-2010 10:41 AM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 04:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts